Marketing & SEO / Social Media Management Software

Hootsuite Review, Pricing, Pros & Cons

Hootsuite is a social media management platform for planning and publishing content, managing conversations, monitoring social activity, coordinating teams, and reporting performance across networks.

Research by Global Tool Radar Research SystemEvidence checked: Aug 10, 2026AI-assisted · No Global Tool Radar hands-on testView research methodology

Buying snapshot

Quick buying snapshot

A compact view of who this tool fits, what it costs, and what to confirm before choosing it.

Best for
  • A social team needs publishing, engagement, analytics, listening, and collaboration in one established platform: Hootsuite combines broad social-network publishing with a unified inbox, custom reporting, competitive intelligence, AI assistance, and plan-dependent governance.
Not for
  • The buyer only needs low-cost scheduling for a few accounts: Hootsuite has no permanent free plan, and its public self-service entry price includes a broader management suite than a simple scheduler.
Pricing
  • Per-user subscription with plan-based social-account, collaboration, analytics, inbox, and listening depth plus a custom Enterprise route
  • Standard · $99 USD · per user · per month · Standard public starting price billed annually · starting at · billed annually · minimum 1 user · Public starting price
Free or trial access
  • A 14-day trial is available for Standard, Professional, and Advanced without a credit card, and the official FAQ states that the account is not charged automatically when the trial ends.

Product scope

Product functionality and purchase scope

This profile evaluates Hootsuite's current social media management plans for organic publishing, engagement, analytics, listening, collaboration, content assistance, integrations, and governance.

Product checked: Aug 10, 2026

Functionality reviewed
  • Hootsuite Standard
  • Hootsuite Professional
  • Hootsuite Advanced
  • Hootsuite Enterprise
Non-target functionality excluded from scoring
  • Hootsuite Amplify employee advocacy except where identified as a separate add-on or Enterprise capability
  • Paid advertising spend and ad-network services
  • Third-party application subscription charges
  • Standalone Talkwalker products outside the listening capabilities sold through Hootsuite

Pricing plans

Hootsuite pricing table

Pricing checked: Aug 10, 2026

Official factConfidence 98%1 linked source

Hootsuite lists Standard at USD 99, Professional at USD 199, and Advanced at USD 399 per user per month, billed annually; Enterprise requires a custom quote. These are public starting amounts, and the page does not establish a self-service contract commitment beyond the stated annual billing schedule.

Official pricing page
Pricing cautions
  • Per-user pricing can rise as the operating team expands: Hootsuite states that plans are sold per user and that additional seats must be purchased for each teammate needing access.
  • Annual billing does not establish a contract term: The public page labels self-service amounts billed annually but does not establish whether the subscription is non-cancellable for one year.
PlanPriceKey differencesBest for
StandardHootsuite StandardSupporting pricing evidence
  • $99 USD · per user · per month · Standard public starting price billed annually · starting at · billed annually · minimum 1 user · Public starting price
  • taxes and regional price variation are not stated
  • Connected social accounts: 10 social accounts; Standard plan.
Small social teams managing up to ten social accounts with core publishing, inbox, analytics, AI assistance, and entry-level listening.
ProfessionalHootsuite ProfessionalSupporting pricing evidence
  • $199 USD · per user · per month · Professional public starting price billed annually · starting at · billed annually · minimum 1 user · Public starting price
  • taxes and regional price variation are not stated
  • Connected social accounts: Unlimited social accounts; Professional plan.
Professional social managers who need unlimited social accounts and broader capability than Standard without the full Advanced governance set.
AdvancedHootsuite AdvancedSupporting pricing evidence
  • $399 USD · per user · per month · Advanced public starting price billed annually · starting at · billed annually · minimum 1 user · Public starting price
  • taxes and regional price variation are not stated
  • Team workflow controls: Approval workflows, bulk scheduling, permissions, custom reporting, and automated message routing; Advanced plan.
Teams that need approval workflows, custom reports, message routing, expanded competitive analysis, and controlled user permissions.
EnterpriseHootsuite EnterpriseSupporting pricing evidence
  • Requires quote · per organization · Enterprise custom quote · custom quote · Enterprise buyers through a sales-assisted purchase route
  • Enterprise governance and scale: Custom organization controls, advanced listening, analytics, inbox, training, and support; Enterprise contract.
Large multi-team or global organizations needing custom governance, advanced listening, care workflows, training, and contractual support.

Plan upgrade triggers

Verified plan boundaries that can change the required edition.

Standard Professional

The buyer needs more than ten connected social accounts or the broader Professional feature set.

Supporting pricing evidence
Professional Advanced

The team needs approval workflows, bulk scheduling, custom reports, message routing, or controlled permissions.

Supporting pricing evidence
Advanced Enterprise

The organization needs enterprise-scale listening, care, governance, training, support, or contractual customization.

Supporting pricing evidence
License calculator

License cost scenarios

Adjust the license quantity to compare public recurring rates across the available plans.

PlanPriceMonthly equivalent12-month license-rate estimate
StandardStandard public starting price billed annually · starting_at$99.00 USD / user / month$495.00 USD$5,940.00 USD

License-rate calculation only. It excludes implementation, migration, training, support, taxes, add-ons, usage charges, and negotiated discounts unless they are explicitly included in the displayed public rate.

What is included, connected, or sold separately

Product scope

What is included, connected, or sold separately

Material capabilities are separated by their verified relationship to the target product.

Advanced social listeningRelationship not verified

Listening depth, history, source coverage, and enterprise intelligence vary materially by plan.

Plan: Standard: Not verified · Professional: Not verified · Advanced: Not verified · Enterprise: Not verifiedTalkwalker
Approval workflowsRelationship not verified

Advanced adds team approval workflows; Enterprise extends organization-level governance.

Plan: Advanced: Not verified · Enterprise: Not verified
How the score is calculated

Scoring method

How the score is calculated

The score uses the category-specific buying dimensions below and their displayed weights.

This page is based on public product information, official sources, structured feature data, and multi-model AI evaluation. It is not a hands-on lab test unless explicitly stated. Confidence percentages describe our research indicators, not the probability that a claim is true or a measured accuracy rate.

Evidence confidence
76%
AI claim confidence
99%
Required-field evidence status
100%
Evidence freshness
54%
Field traceability
100%
Model agreement
93%
Why this confidence level
  • Evidence confidence uses source level and claim-to-source support; AI claim confidence is shown separately.
  • Required-field evidence status measures whether weighted required claims have evidence links; it does not mean every product behavior was independently verified.
  • 8 of 8 weighted claims have evidence links.
  • 0 A1 documentary official sources and 7 A2 official product sources are linked.
  • 4 independent review sources are retained, including 1 professional sources with an explicit hands-on method.
  • 4 weighted claims are past the review window.
  • No blocking evidence conflict was identified.
Planning and publishing19%
84

Hootsuite supports planning, scheduling, publishing, and AI-assisted content creation features, and Advanced adds bulk scheduling, so it is well suited to recurring social publishing workflows; the score is limited by the plan-based split in workflow depth.

Analytics and performance measurement15%
80

Cross-channel performance reporting and competitor benchmarking are available, with custom reports requiring the Advanced plan.

Engagement and community management15%
79

Unified inbox features such as saved replies, assignments, routing, and automation support community response workflows, with message routing and care-oriented depth expanding on higher plans.

Collaboration and governance14%
76

Collaboration expands through inbox assignments and Advanced approval workflows, permissions, and routing, while Enterprise adds custom organization controls for multi-team governance.

Usability, support, and total cost13%
68

The per-user subscription model and billed-annually pricing are clear, but the self-service contract term, cancellation terms, and full support scope are not established on the public page, so total cost and support planning need direct buyer verification.

Integrations and security12%
68

The facts confirm social-network connectivity and note API-driven behavior differences, but they do not establish a detailed security or integration control set, so buyers should treat integration and security scope as only partially evidenced.

Listening and monitoring12%
72

Plan-dependent social listening, sentiment, and brand monitoring are supported, including Enterprise listening depth, but the facts make clear that listening is not uniformly available at the same level across plans, which lowers the score.

Public review signals

Hootsuite has favorable verified aggregates across three buyer-review sources

G2 reports 4. 3/5 from 7,073 reviews, Capterra reports 4. 4/5 from 3,799 reviews, and TrustRadius reports 8. 1/10 from 1,282 reviews and ratings.

Public review signals updated: Aug 10, 2026

Capterra4.4/5
Review count
3.8k reviews
Source context
Hootsuite on CapterraExact product
View sourceHistory baseline established: Aug 10, 2026
G24.3/5
Review count
7.1k reviews
Source context
Hootsuite on G2Exact product
View sourceHistory baseline established: Aug 10, 2026
TrustRadius8.1/10
Reviews and ratings
1.3k reviews and ratings
Source context
Hootsuite on TrustRadiusExact product
View sourceHistory baseline established: Aug 10, 2026

Independent editorial perspectives

Broad professional capabilities offset a high entry price and initial complexity

TechRadar found Hootsuite strong for multi-network publishing, AI-assisted creation, custom analytics, monitoring, and higher-tier team workflows, while warning that the platform is expensive and can feel overwhelming to new users.

Professional reviews are shown separately from public user ratings and do not affect the Global Tool Radar score.

Editorial research updated: Aug 10, 2026

TechRadar ProExact product

Broad professional capabilities offset a high entry price and initial complexity

TechRadar found Hootsuite strong for multi-network publishing, AI-assisted creation, custom analytics, monitoring, and higher-tier team workflows, while warning that the platform is expensive and can feel overwhelming to new users.

Review basis
hands on
Testing standard
independent hands on
Editorial independence
Verified policy
Source updated
Feb 2, 2026
Commercial disclosure
affiliate
Review details
  • Broad support for major social networks
  • Time-saving AI creation and repurposing tools
  • Custom analytics and reporting for professional teams
  • No permanent free tier
  • High entry price for small teams
  • The breadth of the interface can create an initial learning curve
View source
Score76
Pricing modelPer-user subscription with plan-based social-account, collaboration, analytics, inbox, and listening depth plus a custom Enterprise route
Use caseSocial publishing calendar, Multi-location marketing
Company sizeEnterprise, Mid-market, Small business
Structured tags

Hootsuite tag profile

Company size
  • Enterprise
  • Mid-market
  • Small business
Business function
  • Social media teams
  • Content marketing teams
Use case
  • Social publishing calendar
  • Multi-location marketing
Industry
  • Marketing agencies
Key features

Hootsuite core capabilities

  • Multi-network social content planning, scheduling, and publishing
  • Unified inbox with saved replies, assignments, routing, and automation
  • Cross-channel analytics, custom reports, and competitor benchmarking
  • Plan-dependent social listening, sentiment, and brand monitoring
  • Approval workflows, user permissions, and enterprise governance
  • AI-assisted captions, ideas, images, templates, and content repurposing
Detailed strengths and purchase cautions
Pros

Why it is worth considering

  • The platform supports multi-network planning, scheduling, and publishing, which suits teams that coordinate a recurring content calendar across channels.
  • The unified inbox supports saved replies, assignments, routing, and automation, which can centralize day-to-day conversation handling.
  • Advanced adds approval workflows, user permissions, custom reporting, bulk scheduling, and automated message routing, which supports governed team operations.
  • Enterprise adds custom organization controls, advanced listening, analytics, inbox, training, and support, which can fit larger organizations with formal governance needs.
Cons

What to confirm before buying

  • The public self-service pricing is per user and billed annually, so seat growth can change the budget materially as more teammates need access.
  • The public page does not establish a self-service contract commitment or cancellation term, so buyers should confirm commercial terms before purchase.
  • Listening, inbox automation, reporting, and governance are plan-dependent, so the buyer must confirm which workflows sit in Standard versus Advanced or Enterprise.
  • The facts note that social-network API restrictions can create different capabilities across channels, so buyers should validate their required networks before rollout.
Cross-model buying perspectives

Multi-AI review

Cross-model buying perspectives

Multiple AI models assess this tool against the same buying criteria, so you can compare scores, confidence, fit, cautions, and final views.

AI assessment updated: Sep 21, 2026

Score comparisonGeminiGPTxAIRange
Planning and publishing8584841
Analytics and performance measurement8081801
Engagement and community management8276786
Collaboration and governance72827410
Usability, support, and total cost7267666
Integrations and security78685820
Listening and monitoring7574687
social management calendar planning8584823
social management publishing reliability8078746
social management engagement moderation8276796
social management approval governance70837213
social management performance reporting8081811
social management multichannel governance8279766
social management team usability7574705
Where models differ
  • Integrations and security: 58–78 (20-point range)
  • social management approval governance: 70–83 (13-point range)
  • Collaboration and governance: 72–82 (10-point range)
GeminiAI-assisted buyer perspective78

Hootsuite provides a structured multi-network publishing and engagement environment, but buyers must evaluate plan-dependent feature gating for approvals and the impact of per-user pricing on total cost.

Review confidence
78/100
Model details
Strengths
  • Core multi-network social content planning, scheduling, and publishing capabilities are available across all plans.
  • A unified inbox supports team response times with saved replies, message assignments, and automated routing on Advanced plans.
  • Built-in AI assistance helps teams generate captions, content ideas, templates, and images directly within the workflow.
Cautions
  • Essential collaboration and governance features, such as approval workflows and user permissions, require upgrading to the Advanced plan.
  • Self-service pricing is charged per user, which can significantly increase the overall platform cost as team size expands.
  • API limits imposed by external social networks can create varying capabilities and require occasional manual channel reconnections.
GPTAI-assisted buyer perspective78

Hootsuite fits teams that need a shared social operations workspace for publishing, inbox management, reporting, and plan-dependent listening, with the main purchasing check being whether the buyer needs Advanced or Enterprise controls and can accept per-user, billed-annually pricing.

Review confidence
78/100
Model details
Strengths
  • The platform supports multi-network planning, scheduling, and publishing, which suits teams that coordinate a recurring content calendar across channels.
  • The unified inbox supports saved replies, assignments, routing, and automation, which can centralize day-to-day conversation handling.
  • Advanced adds approval workflows, user permissions, custom reporting, bulk scheduling, and automated message routing, which supports governed team operations.
  • Enterprise adds custom organization controls, advanced listening, analytics, inbox, training, and support, which can fit larger organizations with formal governance needs.
Cautions
  • The public self-service pricing is per user and billed annually, so seat growth can change the budget materially as more teammates need access.
  • The public page does not establish a self-service contract commitment or cancellation term, so buyers should confirm commercial terms before purchase.
  • Listening, inbox automation, reporting, and governance are plan-dependent, so the buyer must confirm which workflows sit in Standard versus Advanced or Enterprise.
  • The facts note that social-network API restrictions can create different capabilities across channels, so buyers should validate their required networks before rollout.
xAIAI-assisted buyer perspective74

Hootsuite fits mid-market and agency social teams that need consolidated multi-network planning, inbox handling, and analytics, provided they budget per-user seats billed annually and select Advanced or Enterprise when approval workflows, custom reporting, routing, or deeper governance are required.

Review confidence
74/100
Model details
Strengths
  • Multi-network content planning, scheduling, and publishing with AI-assisted captions, ideas, images, templates, and repurposing supports centralized content operations across connected accounts.
  • A unified inbox with saved replies, assignments, routing, and automation can centralize conversation handling for teams that need shared engagement work.
  • Cross-channel analytics, competitor benchmarking, and plan-tier custom reporting give performance visibility for stakeholders who need channel and competitive views.
  • A 14-day trial of Standard, Professional, and Advanced without a credit card lets buyers validate core workflows before purchase.
Cautions
  • Per-user pricing means total cost rises with each teammate who needs access, which can become material for larger operating teams.
  • Approval workflows, bulk scheduling, controlled permissions, custom reporting, and automated message routing are tied to Advanced, so lower plans lack that governance set.
  • Social listening, sentiment, and brand monitoring depth are plan-dependent, and Enterprise-grade listening and care capabilities sit on the custom route.
  • Social-network API restrictions can produce uneven publishing or engagement behavior and occasional reconnection work across channels.

Research transparency

How this page was researched

A compact record of the evidence used, what was not tested, and which conclusions still need verification.

Official sources
7
Broad product review sources
3
Marketplace and app-store sources
0
Editorial sources
1
Latest evidence check
Aug 10, 2026
Research basis

Global Tool Radar generated this assessment from structured facts linked to public sources. No Global Tool Radar hands-on test is recorded in this page's research data. Any external hands-on assessment is identified separately and does not affect the Global Tool Radar score.

Conflict handling

No unresolved evidence conflict is currently recorded.

View research methodology
Verified findingsA 14-day trial is available for Standard, Professional, and Advanced without a credit card, and the official FAQ states that the account is not charged automatically when the trial ends.
  • Per-user subscription with plan-based social-account, collaboration, analytics, inbox, and listening depth plus a custom Enterprise route
  • Multi-network social content planning, scheduling, and publishing Unified inbox with saved replies, assignments, routing, and automation Cross-channel analytics, custom reports, and competitor benchmarking Plan-dependent social listening, sentiment, and brand monitoring Approval workflows, user permissions, and enterprise governance AI-assisted captions, ideas, images, templates, and content repurposing
  • Public self-service pricing starts at USD 99 per user per month for Standard, billed annually.
  • Hootsuite lists Standard at USD 99, Professional at USD 199, and Advanced at USD 399 per user per month, billed annually; Enterprise requires a custom quote. These are public starting amounts, and the page does not establish a self-service contract commitment beyond the stated annual billing schedule.
Verification notes and unresolved itemsCurrent exact-product sources were used for identity, plan names, public starting prices, trial terms, and capabilities.
  • Annual billing was not converted into a one-year commitment.
  • Standalone Talkwalker and Hootsuite Amplify scope was excluded unless explicitly described as a Hootsuite plan capability or separate boundary.
Sources checked

Sources checked

Hootsuite source links

FAQ

Hootsuite FAQ

Does Hootsuite offer a permanent free plan?

No permanent free production plan is shown on the current official plan page. Standard, Professional, and Advanced offer 14-day trials.

Does the Hootsuite trial require a credit card?

No. The official FAQ says the 14-day trial does not require a credit card and does not charge automatically when it ends.

Which plan adds approval workflows?

Advanced introduces approval workflows and broader team controls, while Enterprise adds larger-scale governance and organizational capabilities.

Is Hootsuite Listening a separate product?

This profile evaluates the listening capability available through Hootsuite plans. Standalone Talkwalker products and services are outside the target product scope.

Popular comparisons

Common Hootsuite comparisons

Only high-scoring and nearby tools from the same subcategory are shown, avoiding comparisons between unrelated use cases.