Security & Privacy / Application Security Testing Software

Semgrep AppSec Platform Review, Pricing, Pros & Cons

Semgrep AppSec Platform unifies Semgrep Code SAST, Semgrep Supply Chain SCA, and Semgrep Secrets with Pro Engine analysis, AI-assisted triage and remediation, policy controls, developer integrations, reporting, and managed or customer-run scanning.

Research by Global Tool Radar Research SystemEvidence checked: Aug 12, 2026AI-assisted · No Global Tool Radar hands-on testView research methodology

Buying snapshot

Quick buying snapshot

A compact view of who this tool fits, what it costs, and what to confirm before choosing it.

Best for
  • Your priority is developer-centered SAST, SCA, and secrets scanning before release: Semgrep combines all three scanner types with IDE, pull-request, CI/CD, policy, triage, and remediation workflows.
  • Dependency-alert reduction requires code-aware reachability: Supply Chain combines dependency metadata with first-party code analysis, reachability, EPSS, malicious-package detection, and upgrade guidance.
More buying conditions
  • You need a low-cost entry for a small contributor group: Free Edition includes Code and Supply Chain for organizations with no more than 10 monthly contributors and 10 private repositories.
Not for
  • You need dynamic web, API, IAST, container, or runtime validation in the same core platform: Semgrep's published core scanner scope is SAST, SCA, and secrets detection; API-focused static or AI detection is not a DAST or IAST product.
  • You require human-operated managed AppSec or manual validation: Managed Scans runs automated scans on Semgrep infrastructure, while Customer Success provides support and implementation help rather than a published human validation service.
More buying conditions
  • You require a fully public all-in cost and fixed renewal terms: Teams is component-priced, Enterprise is quote-based, AI-credit add-on prices are not public, and direct payment and commitment terms are unstated.
Pricing
  • Contributor-based Free Edition, Teams, and Enterprise tiers with scanner-specific licenses. Free Edition includes Code and Supply Chain. Teams publishes separate Code, Supply Chain, and Secrets rates. Enterprise is quote-based. AWS Marketplace is an alternative contract route.
  • Free Edition · public projects have no contributor limit
Free or trial access
  • A permanent Free Edition is available. A Teams trial starts automatically the first time a free organization exceeds its usage limits; the current usage documentation does not state its duration.

Product scope

Product functionality and purchase scope

This profile evaluates the current Semgrep AppSec Platform edition ladder and the Code, Supply Chain, and Secrets licenses selected within it. Capability depth is bounded to the licensed scanner, edition, language, integration, deployment mode, and AI-credit allowance.

Product checked: Aug 12, 2026

Functionality reviewed
  • Semgrep Code static application security testing with Pro Engine, Pro rules, custom rules, and cross-function or eligible cross-file analysis
  • Semgrep Supply Chain software composition analysis with lockfile and code scanning, reachability, malicious-dependency detection, EPSS, SBOM, license checks, and dependency search
  • Semgrep Secrets semantic, entropy, and regex detection with local secret validation when licensed
  • Semgrep Multimodal detection, triage, remediation guidance, Memories, and Autofix within published AI-credit allowances
  • CLI, IDE, pull-request, source-control, CI/CD, notification, ticketing, policy, reporting, API, SSO, and RBAC workflows available to the edition
  • Customer-run local or CI scans and Semgrep Managed Scans hosted execution
Non-target functionality excluded from scoring
  • Semgrep Community Edition, a separate free OSS-oriented CLI and rule ecosystem rather than an AppSec Platform edition
  • Dynamic application security testing, interactive application security testing, dedicated dynamic API testing, and runtime exploit validation
  • Container image scanning and a complete infrastructure-as-code security product; Terraform parsing does not establish either modality
  • Human penetration testing, human finding validation, managed detection and response, and a human-operated managed AppSec program
  • Customer Success, Technical Account Manager work, custom support, onboarding, and services beyond each edition's stated entitlements
  • Third-party products and subscriptions connected through Wiz, Palo Alto Networks Cortex, SCM, CI/CD, IDE, ticketing, or notification integrations
  • AWS Marketplace contract pricing as a direct Semgrep plan price
Purchase paths

Pricing checked: Aug 12, 2026

  • AWS Marketplace Application Security Platform: AWS Marketplace sells Semgrep's SaaS platform through contract dimensions that differ from the direct contributor rates. It is an acquisition route, not a Semgrep plan.
    • $480 USD · per Code (SAST) contract dimension · per year · AWS 12-month Code contract · one-year commitment · AWS Marketplace buyers selecting Code (SAST)
    • $480 USD · per Supply Chain (SCA) contract dimension · per year · AWS 12-month Supply Chain contract · one-year commitment · AWS Marketplace buyers selecting Supply Chain (SCA)
    • $720 USD · per Secrets contract dimension · per year · AWS 12-month Secrets contract · one-year commitment · AWS Marketplace buyers selecting Secrets

Pricing plans

Semgrep AppSec Platform pricing table

Pricing checked: Aug 12, 2026

Official factConfidence 96%1 linked source

Free Edition supports Code and Supply Chain for eligible organizations and has private-repository, contributor, and AI-credit limits. Teams prices selected scanners per contributor and adds larger repository capacity, paid support, OIDC or SAML, RBAC, REST API, and distributed scans. Enterprise requires a quote and adds unlimited repositories and contributors, on-prem source-control support, custom CI/CD, optional dedicated infrastructure, tailored onboarding, and a dedicated account manager. Direct payment timing, minimum commitment, renewal pricing, taxes, implementation charges, and paid AI-credit amounts are not publicly stated.

Official pricing page
Commercial scope needs confirmation

Current official sources describe an offer or purchase route differently. The page remains usable, but affected price schema is withheld until the scope is resolved.

  • The Teams card says Starting at $30 per contributor per month, while the same card says buyers can choose Secrets at $15 per contributor per month. The scanner-specific rates are retained, but a universal paid-plan starting amount is not asserted.
PlanPriceKey differencesBest for
Free EditionSemgrep AppSec Platform Free Edition with Code and Supply ChainSupporting pricing evidence
  • $0 USD · per contributor · per month · Organizations using Code and Supply Chain with 10 or fewer monthly contributors
  • public projects have no contributor limit
  • Private repositories: 10 repositories; Private repositories scanned by the organization.
  • Monthly contributors: 10 contributors; Private-repository contributors counted across company organizations.
  • Monthly AI credits: 60 AI credits; Per organization per month.
Individuals and small teams using Code and Supply Chain on no more than 10 private repositories and 10 monthly contributors.
TeamsSemgrep AppSec Platform Teams edition with selected scanner licensesSupporting pricing evidence
  • $30 USD · per contributor · per month · Teams Code license · Teams customers selecting Semgrep Code
  • $30 USD · per contributor · per month · Teams Supply Chain license · Teams customers selecting Semgrep Supply Chain
  • $15 USD · per contributor · per month · Teams Secrets license · Teams customers selecting Semgrep Secrets
  • Private repositories: 500 repositories; Private repositories scanned by the organization.
  • Monthly AI credits: 20 AI credits; Per contributor per month.
  • Additional AI-credit purchase increment: 10000 AI credits; Monetary price not publicly stated.
Small and mid-market AppSec teams selecting one or more scanners and needing up to 500 private repositories, enterprise identity, API access, distributed scans, and paid support.
EnterpriseSemgrep AppSec Platform Enterprise edition with selected scanner licensesSupporting pricing evidence
  • Requires quote · custom quote · Enterprise environments requiring additional scale, deployment flexibility, onboarding, or support
  • Repositories and contributors: Unlimited; Number of repositories scanned and contributors.
  • Monthly AI credits: 50 AI credits; Per contributor per month.
  • Dedicated infrastructure deployment: Available; Optional deployment; price and architecture not publicly stated.
  • Private development-system support: On-prem source control and custom CI/CD integrations; Does not establish a self-hosted AppSec Platform.
Large or complex organizations needing unlimited repositories and contributors, on-prem source-control support, custom CI/CD, dedicated infrastructure options, tailored onboarding, and account management.

Plan upgrade triggers

Verified plan boundaries that can change the required edition.

Free Edition Teams

More than 10 monthly contributors require Team licenses for Code and Supply Chain; Teams also raises the private-repository cap from 10 to 500.

Supporting pricing evidence
Teams Enterprise

More than 500 private repositories, on-prem source-control support, custom CI/CD, dedicated infrastructure, tailored onboarding, or dedicated account management.

Supporting pricing evidence
Variable usage cost

Usage cost scenarios

Calculate additional usage only where the plan allowance, unit, and period are established. Published rates are shown separately when an estimate is not available.

AWS additional SAST users

$0.05 USD / SAST user

Published rate only. The plan allowance, matching unit, or billing period is not fully established, so extra cost cannot be calculated. An unknown allowance is not zero. Check the base subscription and any required products separately.

AWS additional SCA users

$0.05 USD / SCA user

Published rate only. The plan allowance, matching unit, or billing period is not fully established, so extra cost cannot be calculated. An unknown allowance is not zero. Check the base subscription and any required products separately.

AWS additional Secrets users

$0.08 USD / Secrets user

Published rate only. The plan allowance, matching unit, or billing period is not fully established, so extra cost cannot be calculated. An unknown allowance is not zero. Check the base subscription and any required products separately.

This calculation compares usage with the published allowance on the same unit and period basis. It excludes taxes, negotiated terms, and unverified packaging conditions.

What is included, connected, or sold separately

Product scope

What is included, connected, or sold separately

Material capabilities are separated by their verified relationship to the target product.

AI-assisted SAST and dependency fix generation in public betaRelationship not verified

The plan comparison includes Autofix in all editions, but execution consumes AI credits and the feature remains public beta.

Plan: Free Edition: Not verified · Teams: Not verified · Enterprise: Not verifiedSemgrep Autofix
Automated scans hosted on Semgrep infrastructureRelationship not verified

This is hosted automated scan execution, not human finding validation or an outsourced AppSec program.

Plan: Free Edition: Not verified · Teams: Not verified · Enterprise: Not verifiedSemgrep Managed Scans
Enterprise custom AI model providerRelationship not verified

The comparison matrix includes this only in Enterprise.

Plan: Free Edition: Not verified · Teams: Not verified · Enterprise: Not verifiedSemgrep Multimodal
Paid support with Enterprise account management and tailored onboardingRelationship not verified

Teams includes paid support; Enterprise adds a dedicated account manager and tailored onboarding. No human-operated managed testing is inferred.

Plan: Free Edition: Not verified · Teams: Not verified · Enterprise: Not verifiedSemgrep Customer Success
Separate lightweight OSS-oriented single-function SAST toolingRelationship not verified

Community Edition is not the AppSec Platform Free Edition and does not establish platform, Pro Engine, SCA, Secrets, or paid support entitlements.

Semgrep Community Edition
Wiz and Palo Alto Networks Cortex integrationsRelationship not verified

The integrations do not make third-party cloud or runtime capabilities native Semgrep testing modalities.

Plan: Free Edition: Not verified · Teams: Not verified · Enterprise: Not verifiedWiz and Palo Alto Networks Cortex
How the score is calculated

Scoring method

How the score is calculated

The score uses the category-specific buying dimensions below and their displayed weights.

This page is based on public product information, official sources, structured feature data, and multi-model AI evaluation. It is not a hands-on lab test unless explicitly stated. Confidence percentages describe our research indicators, not the probability that a claim is true or a measured accuracy rate.

Evidence confidence
76%
AI claim confidence
98%
Required-field evidence status
100%
Evidence freshness
54%
Field traceability
100%
Model agreement
95%
Why this confidence level
  • Evidence confidence uses source level and claim-to-source support; AI claim confidence is shown separately.
  • Required-field evidence status measures whether weighted required claims have evidence links; it does not mean every product behavior was independently verified.
  • 8 of 8 weighted claims have evidence links.
  • 0 A1 documentary official sources and 10 A2 official product sources are linked.
  • 0 independent review sources are retained, including 0 professional sources with an explicit hands-on method.
  • 4 weighted claims are past the review window.
  • 1 non-blocking commercial scope issue requires confirmation.
Accuracy and validation18%
82

Uses reachability analysis and semantic/entropy-based validation to verify vulnerability risk, minimizing noise without requiring dedicated human-operated triage.

Testing scope and depth18%
79

Testing depth spans Pro Engine SAST, reachability-aware SCA, secrets semantic and entropy analysis, optional Managed Scans for full and pull-request runs, and custom rules, while dynamic, interactive, and container testing remain outside the published core scope.

Developer workflow15%
86

Fits developers natively via IDE plug-ins and SCM guardrails, but scanning stops immediately if organization-wide contributor counts exceed paid license limits.

Remediation quality14%
78

Offers AI-assisted remediation, Autofix beta, and upgrade guidance, which remain subject to monthly AI credit limits and varying language support.

Risk prioritization13%
83

Reachability analysis, EPSS, malicious-package detection, license and SBOM context, and AI triage supply exploitability and dependency risk signals that help order remediation beyond raw severity labels.

Governance and integrations12%
79

OIDC, SAML, RBAC, reporting, REST API, and distributed scans support governance and operational integration, but the most complete governance set is associated with Teams and Enterprise rather than the free edition.

Support and total cost10%
67

Free Edition can start Code and Supply Chain at $0 within tight repository, contributor, and AI-credit limits, Teams publishes $30/$30/$15 per-contributor monthly scanner rates with paid support, and Enterprise is quote-based, while payment timing, commitments, renewals, taxes, implementation charges, and extra AI-credit prices stay unpublished and contributor spikes can force license growth.

Marketplace app signals

Marketplace app signals

These source-reported ratings describe a specific marketplace listing, integration, mobile app, or add-on. They do not automatically represent the complete software product.

AWS Marketplace4.5/5
Rating count
63 ratings
Evaluated scope
Full product listing
Storefront
AWS Marketplace
Score80
Pricing modelContributor-based Free Edition, Teams, and Enterprise tiers with scanner-specific licenses. Free Edition includes Code and Supply Chain. Teams publishes separate Code, Supply Chain, and Secrets rates. Enterprise is quote-based. AWS Marketplace is an alternative contract route.
Use casefind, prioritize, and remediate vulnerabilities in first-party code, open source dependencies, and committed secrets across developer and AppSec workflows
Company sizeSmall business, Mid-market, Enterprise
Structured tags

Semgrep AppSec Platform tag profile

Company size
  • Small business
  • Mid-market
  • Enterprise
Key features

Semgrep AppSec Platform core capabilities

  • Semgrep Code SAST across 35+ languages with Pro Engine and high-confidence rules
  • Semgrep Supply Chain SCA across 14 languages with reachability, EPSS, SBOM, license, dependency search, and malicious-package detection
  • Semgrep Secrets with semantic analysis, entropy analysis, regex, and local credential validation
  • AI-powered detection, Memories, auto-triage, remediation guidance, dependency upgrade guidance, and Autofix
  • CLI, VS Code, JetBrains, SCM, pull-request, CI/CD, Jira, Slack, email, webhook, and REST API workflows
  • Policy controls, OIDC and SAML, RBAC, reporting, distributed scans, and Enterprise deployment options
Detailed strengths and purchase cautions
Pros

Why it is worth considering

  • One platform combines Semgrep Code SAST across 35+ languages with Pro Engine and high-confidence rules, Supply Chain SCA across 14 languages with reachability and malicious-package detection, and Secrets with semantic, entropy, regex, and local credential validation.
  • CLI, VS Code, JetBrains, SCM, pull-request, CI/CD, Jira, Slack, email, webhook, and REST API hooks can place findings and controls inside existing developer merge and pipeline steps.
  • Free Edition supplies Code and Supply Chain with Pro Engine features at $0 per contributor per month for organizations within 10 private repositories and 10 monthly contributors, plus 60 AI credits per organization per month.
  • AI-assisted auto-triage, Memories, remediation guidance, dependency upgrade guidance, and Autofix can reduce manual triage load while monthly AI credits remain available.
Cons

What to confirm before buying

  • Core product scope does not publish DAST, IAST, container scanning, or dedicated dynamic API testing, so runtime and container coverage require separate tools.
  • Contributor billing counts people who committed to Semgrep-scanned private repositories in a rolling 90-day window and aggregates those counts across company organizations, which can change license need as commit activity spreads.
  • AI-powered detection, Autofix, and related agentic workflows stop when AI credits are exhausted, and the monetary price of additional credit packs is not publicly stated.
  • Autofix is public beta and language, framework, reachability, fix, and integration depth varies, so automated fixes remain assistive rather than uniformly complete.
Cross-model buying perspectives

Multi-AI review

Cross-model buying perspectives

Multiple AI models assess this tool against the same buying criteria, so you can compare scores, confidence, fit, cautions, and final views.

AI assessment updated: Sep 22, 2026

Score comparisonGPTGeminixAIRange
Accuracy and validation8382803
Testing scope and depth8475779
Developer workflow8885853
Remediation quality8178747
Risk prioritization8580835
Governance and integrations7980791
Support and total cost6270688
appsec testing coverage depth86757611
appsec finding accuracy prioritization8480824
appsec developer workflow fit8885863
appsec policy release governance8080782
appsec program visibility7875726
Where models differ
  • appsec testing coverage depth: 75–86 (11-point range)
  • Testing scope and depth: 75–84 (9-point range)
  • Support and total cost: 62–70 (8-point range)
GPTAI-assisted buyer perspective82

Semgrep AppSec Platform fits developer-led AppSec teams that want SAST, supply-chain, and secrets scanning with policy, workflow integrations, and scalable governance, but buyers should verify scanner mix, contributor-based pricing, AI-credit consumption, and whether they also need DAST or human validation.

Review confidence
82/100
Model details
Strengths
  • The platform combines Semgrep Code SAST, Semgrep Supply Chain SCA, and Semgrep Secrets, which supports teams that want multiple AppSec scanning modes in one product family.
  • Developer workflow coverage includes CLI, VS Code, JetBrains, SCM, pull-request, CI/CD, Jira, Slack, email, webhook, and REST API workflows, which can place findings into existing engineering processes.
  • Teams and Enterprise add policy controls, identity, RBAC, reporting, distributed scans, and Enterprise deployment options, which supports centralized governance for larger programs.
  • Supply Chain includes reachability, EPSS, SBOM, license, dependency search, and malicious-package detection, which gives open-source risk teams more context than basic dependency alerts.
Cautions
  • The platform scope does not publish DAST, IAST, dedicated dynamic API testing, or container scanning, so buyers needing those modalities will still need other tools.
  • Free Edition is limited to Code and Supply Chain and is constrained by private repositories, monthly contributors, and AI credits, which can limit small teams that want broader scanner coverage without paying.
  • Teams pricing is scanner-specific and the commercial record leaves direct payment timing, minimum commitment, renewals, taxes, implementation costs, and Enterprise amounts unstated, which makes budget planning less complete.
  • AI-powered detection, Autofix, and Agentic Workflows stop when AI credits are exhausted, so buyers using those features need to monitor consumption.
GeminiAI-assisted buyer perspective79

A solid fit for developer-first security teams requiring fast SAST, SCA, and secrets checking directly in their repositories, though buyers must carefully calculate contributor counts and accept that dynamic and container security require separate external tools.

Review confidence
79/100
Model details
Strengths
  • Broad static analysis coverage that supports over 35 languages for SAST alongside 14 languages for dependency vulnerability checks.
  • Developer-focused workflow integration that places feedback directly into the IDE, command-line interface, and pull-request processes.
  • Prioritization mechanisms such as reachability analysis and EPSS metrics that help security teams focus on executable open-source risks.
Cautions
  • Unspecified commercial variables including minimum commitment terms, renewal rates, and the monetary pricing of extra AI credits.
  • Lacks native product capabilities for dynamic testing (DAST), interactive testing (IAST), and container scanning within the core platform licenses.
  • Exceeding licensed contributor counts, calculated on a rolling 90-day private-repository commit window, will cause automated scans to stop.
xAIAI-assisted buyer perspective78

Semgrep AppSec Platform fits developer-led AppSec programs that need unified static SAST, SCA with reachability, and secrets detection embedded in pull-request and CI workflows, provided the buyer accepts contributor-based licensing, AI-credit limits, and a static-analysis scope without bundled DAST or human-operated validation.

Review confidence
78/100
Model details
Strengths
  • One platform combines Semgrep Code SAST across 35+ languages with Pro Engine and high-confidence rules, Supply Chain SCA across 14 languages with reachability and malicious-package detection, and Secrets with semantic, entropy, regex, and local credential validation.
  • CLI, VS Code, JetBrains, SCM, pull-request, CI/CD, Jira, Slack, email, webhook, and REST API hooks can place findings and controls inside existing developer merge and pipeline steps.
  • Free Edition supplies Code and Supply Chain with Pro Engine features at $0 per contributor per month for organizations within 10 private repositories and 10 monthly contributors, plus 60 AI credits per organization per month.
  • AI-assisted auto-triage, Memories, remediation guidance, dependency upgrade guidance, and Autofix can reduce manual triage load while monthly AI credits remain available.
Cautions
  • Core product scope does not publish DAST, IAST, container scanning, or dedicated dynamic API testing, so runtime and container coverage require separate tools.
  • Contributor billing counts people who committed to Semgrep-scanned private repositories in a rolling 90-day window and aggregates those counts across company organizations, which can change license need as commit activity spreads.
  • AI-powered detection, Autofix, and related agentic workflows stop when AI credits are exhausted, and the monetary price of additional credit packs is not publicly stated.
  • Autofix is public beta and language, framework, reachability, fix, and integration depth varies, so automated fixes remain assistive rather than uniformly complete.

Research transparency

How this page was researched

A compact record of the evidence used, what was not tested, and which conclusions still need verification.

Official sources
10
Broad product review sources
0
Marketplace and app-store sources
1
Editorial sources
0
Latest evidence check
Aug 12, 2026
Research basis

Global Tool Radar generated this assessment from structured facts linked to public sources. No Global Tool Radar hands-on test is recorded in this page's research data. Any external hands-on assessment is identified separately and does not affect the Global Tool Radar score.

Conflict handling

Unresolved evidence is disclosed on the page; affected deterministic calculations and price schema are withheld when the conflict is blocking.

View research methodology
Verified findingsA permanent Free Edition is available. A Teams trial starts automatically the first time a free organization exceeds its usage limits; the current usage documentation does not state its duration.
  • Contributor-based Free Edition, Teams, and Enterprise tiers with scanner-specific licenses. Free Edition includes Code and Supply Chain. Teams publishes separate Code, Supply Chain, and Secrets rates. Enterprise is quote-based. AWS Marketplace is an alternative contract route.
  • Semgrep Code SAST across 35+ languages with Pro Engine and high-confidence rules Semgrep Supply Chain SCA across 14 languages with reachability, EPSS, SBOM, license, dependency search, and malicious-package detection Semgrep Secrets with semantic analysis, entropy analysis, regex, and local credential validation AI-powered detection, Memories, auto-triage, remediation guidance, dependency upgrade guidance, and Autofix CLI, VS Code, JetBrains, SCM, pull-request, CI/CD, Jira, Slack, email, webhook, and REST API workflows Policy controls, OIDC and SAML, RBAC, reporting, distributed scans, and Enterprise deployment options Semgrep Managed Scans for cloud-hosted automated full and pull-request scanning
  • $0 per contributor per month for Free Edition Code and Supply Chain
  • Free Edition supports Code and Supply Chain for eligible organizations and has private-repository, contributor, and AI-credit limits. Teams prices selected scanners per contributor and adds larger repository capacity, paid support, OIDC or SAML, RBAC, REST API, and distributed scans. Enterprise requires a quote and adds unlimited repositories and contributors, on-prem source-control support, custom CI/CD, optional dedicated infrastructure, tailored onboarding, and a dedicated account manager. Direct payment timing, minimum commitment, renewal pricing, taxes, implementation charges, and paid AI-credit amounts are not publicly stated.
Verification notes and unresolved itemsThe Teams card says Starting at $30 per contributor per month, while the same card says buyers can choose Secrets at $15 per contributor per month. The scanner-specific rates are retained, but a universal paid-plan starting amount is not asserted.
  • All eight required AST attributes use migration-allowed values and current official evidence.
  • Testing modalities are restricted to SAST, SCA, and secrets scanning.
  • API-focused static and AI detection is not classified as dynamic API testing
  • Terraform language support is not classified as a complete IaC security modality.
Sources checked

Sources checked

Semgrep AppSec Platform source links

FAQ

Semgrep AppSec Platform FAQ

What are the current Semgrep AppSec Platform plans?

Free Edition, Teams, and Enterprise. Free Edition is permanent and limited, Teams publishes scanner-specific contributor rates, and Enterprise requires a quote.

Which scanners are in the platform?

Semgrep Code provides SAST, Semgrep Supply Chain provides SCA, and Semgrep Secrets provides secrets detection. Free Edition includes Code and Supply Chain; paid scope depends on selected licenses.

How does Semgrep count contributors?

A contributor is someone who committed to a Semgrep-scanned private repository during the rolling 90-day counting window. Contributors are counted across company organizations.

Is Semgrep Community Edition the Free Edition?

No. Community Edition is separate OSS-oriented tooling for lightweight local SAST. Free Edition is a limited AppSec Platform tier with Pro Engine features, Code, Supply Chain, centralized workflows, and AI credits.

Is Semgrep Managed Scans a managed security service?

It is managed scan execution: Semgrep runs automated scans on its cloud infrastructure. It is not published as human-operated finding validation, penetration testing, or an outsourced AppSec program.

Does source code leave the customer environment?

Local and customer-CI scans keep source code in that environment and send metadata. AI features send part of a file containing a finding, and Managed Scans temporarily clones repositories for each scan before deleting the clone.

Does Semgrep include DAST or API testing?

The core product scope does not publish DAST, IAST, or dedicated dynamic API testing. It can detect API-related vulnerabilities through source and AI analysis, which is a different modality.

Is there a free trial?

There is a permanent Free Edition. Semgrep also starts a Teams trial the first time a free organization exceeds its limits, but the current usage documentation does not state the duration.

Popular comparisons

Common Semgrep AppSec Platform comparisons

Only high-scoring and nearby tools from the same subcategory are shown, avoiding comparisons between unrelated use cases.