- A staged path from developer SAST to broad enterprise AppSec is useful: The public ladder spans free CodeSweep, pay-per-scan hosted testing, and a custom suite with broader testing and deployment choices.
- The organization needs cloud and self-managed deployment choices: AppScan on Cloud provides managed SaaS, while AppScan 360 supports on-premises, cloud, sovereign, air-gapped, and hybrid deployment.
Security & Privacy / Application Security Testing Software
HCL AppScan Review, Pricing, Pros & Cons
HCL AppScan is an application security testing family spanning hosted and self-managed SAST, DAST, IAST, SCA, API, secrets, container, and infrastructure-as-code testing with developer workflows, centralized risk management, and remediation guidance.
Buying snapshot
Quick buying snapshot
A compact view of who this tool fits, what it costs, and what to confirm before choosing it.
- A single transparent price must cover every testing engine and delivery model: Only Professional scan pricing and the separate AppScan Standard AWS route have public numeric amounts; Enterprise and product-specific routes require scope confirmation or a quote.
- The buyer wants the full platform permanently free: CodeSweep is the permanent free SAST entry; full hosted testing is limited to a time-bound trial or paid plans.
- Permanent free CodeSweep, promotional pay-per-scan Professional SaaS, and custom-quoted Enterprise suite, plus separately scoped direct-sales and marketplace routes for branded AppScan products.
- Professional · $29.99 USD · per scan · per usage unit · Limited single-scan offer · promotional · minimum 1 scan · Professional credit-card purchase in a listed country
- CodeSweep is a permanent free plan. Separately, HCL offers a 14-day SaaS trial with five SAST, DAST, or SCA scans, summary-only issue reports, no private-site scanning, and no regulatory reports; the trial is not a plan.
Product scope
Product functionality and purchase scope
The review covers the current HCL AppScan family and its public CodeSweep, Professional, and Enterprise plan ladder, while preserving the separate commercial identities of its hosted, self-managed, specialist, add-on, and service offerings.
Product checked: Aug 10, 2026
- CodeSweep, Professional, and Enterprise core marketplace plans
- SAST, DAST, SCA, IAST, API testing, secrets, container, and IaC testing where explicitly included
- AppScan on Cloud as the hosted platform and direct-sales route
- AppScan 360, AppScan Standard, AppScan Source, and AppScan Enterprise as current separate family products
- HCL AppScan API Security as a separate specialist product
- AWS Marketplace only as an AppScan Standard procurement route
- The 14-day trial as a plan
- Per Application, Per Concurrent, Per Scan, Authorized User, and Floating User metrics as plan names
- IAST as a standalone plan or product
- RapidFix, Supply Chain Security, and Code Defense Training as automatically included core plans
- AppScan for You, technical support, implementation, training, and advisory services as software plans
- IBM Security AppScan branding, versions 10.6 and earlier, and retired license-management routes as current offers
Pricing checked: Aug 10, 2026
- HCL AppScan Marketplace: Direct download, scan-credit checkout, or sales-assisted purchase for the retained CodeSweep, Professional, and Enterprise plan ladder.
- HCL AppScan on Cloud direct sales: Hosted AppScan procurement by application, concurrent capacity, or scan through HCL sales; these metrics are routes, not additional plan names.
- HCL AppScan 360: Separate cloud-native, self-managed platform for on-premises, private, public, sovereign, air-gapped, or hybrid deployment.
- HCL AppScan Standard on AWS Marketplace: Separate AWS Marketplace AMI route for the AppScan Standard DAST product; it is not a Professional or Enterprise core-plan offer.
- $17833 USD · per user · per year · one-year commitment · AWS Marketplace customer purchasing the HCL AppScan Standard AMI user dimension
- HCL AppScan API Security: Separate sales-assisted product for continuous API discovery, testing, and posture governance beyond ordinary API scan ingestion.
Pricing plans
HCL AppScan pricing table
Pricing checked: Aug 10, 2026
Professional scan credits provide DAST, SAST, or SCA access for a stated one-year SaaS subscription, and unused scans expire when that subscription period ends. Enterprise is quote-based and adds broader technologies and deployment choices. Public payment timing, renewal price, taxes, implementation cost, support price, and minimum Enterprise purchase are not stated. Product-specific user, floating-user, application, and concurrent metrics are separate routes rather than additional core plans.
Official pricing pageCurrent official sources describe an offer or purchase route differently. The page remains usable, but affected price schema is withheld until the scope is resolved.
- The current canonical card displays a $299 reference price and a $29.99 limited offer, while an official localized FAQ states $313.62 per scan with a five-scan minimum. The inconsistent $313.62 state is omitted; the directly bound card and offer-banner states are retained.
- $0 USD · per downloadable application · Developers at any skill level
- Supported languages: 35+ languages; CodeSweep source-code scanning.
- $29.99 USD · per scan · per usage unit · Limited single-scan offer · promotional · minimum 1 scan · Professional credit-card purchase in a listed country
- 1 to 100 scans per order
- $299 USD · per scan · per usage unit · Displayed regular reference price · reference · Professional plan reference price displayed beside the limited offer
- $699 USD · per 50-scan pack · per usage unit · Limited 50-scan pack · promotional · Professional credit-card purchase in a listed country
- maximum two packs per order
- SaaS subscription access period: 1 year; Purchased scan credits must be used during the subscription period.
- Requires quote · custom quote · Midsize and large organizations purchasing through HCL AppScan sales
- Scans: Unlimited scans; Enterprise suite entitlement; contract scope still requires a quote.
Plan upgrade triggers
Verified plan boundaries that can change the required edition.
Need hosted DAST or SCA scans, centralized dashboards, policies, reports, APIs, or CI/CD integrations beyond lightweight SAST checks.
Supporting pricing evidenceNeed IAST, IaC or secrets testing, API Security, auto-issue correlation, unlimited scans, or self-managed deployment choices.
Supporting pricing evidenceLicense cost scenarios
Adjust the license quantity to compare public recurring rates across the available plans.
License-rate calculation only. It excludes implementation, migration, training, support, taxes, add-ons, usage charges, and negotiated discounts unless they are explicitly included in the displayed public rate.
What is included, connected, or sold separately
Product scope
What is included, connected, or sold separately
Material capabilities are separated by their verified relationship to the target product.
IAST is a testing technology delivered through AppScan on Cloud, AppScan 360, and AppScan Enterprise scopes, not a standalone plan.
Current AppScan 360 documentation explicitly says RapidFix is available as an additional subscription.
The specialist API product extends beyond ordinary API testing available in AppScan platforms.
CodeSweep is SAST-only; Professional credits can be used for DAST or SCA scans; Enterprise includes the Professional foundation.
Its application, concurrent, and scan purchase metrics are routes, not core plan names.
The Enterprise card states everything in Professional plus IAST, IaC, secrets, API Security, and auto-issue correlation.
The service supplies a Security Success Partner and expert coaching; it is not software-plan entitlement.
This separately documented product must not be conflated with the Enterprise suite plan.
Source is a desktop, IDE, and automation SAST product with separate user licensing routes.
Authorized-user, floating-user, and AWS AMI routes do not make Standard a core plan.
CodeSweep provides lightweight SAST, Professional credits can be used for SAST scans, and Enterprise includes the Professional foundation.
AppScan 360 is separately deployed and licensed; it is not a plan name in the marketplace ladder.
How the score is calculated
Scoring method
How the score is calculated
The score uses the category-specific buying dimensions below and their displayed weights.
This page is based on public product information, official sources, structured feature data, and multi-model AI evaluation. It is not a hands-on lab test unless explicitly stated. Confidence percentages describe our research indicators, not the probability that a claim is true or a measured accuracy rate.
- Evidence confidence
- 76%
- AI claim confidence
- 97%
- Required-field evidence status
- 100%
- Evidence freshness
- 54%
- Field traceability
- 100%
- Model agreement
- 94%
Why this confidence level
- Evidence confidence uses source level and claim-to-source support; AI claim confidence is shown separately.
- Required-field evidence status measures whether weighted required claims have evidence links; it does not mean every product behavior was independently verified.
- 8 of 8 weighted claims have evidence links.
- 0 A1 documentary official sources and 13 A2 official product sources are linked.
- 2 independent review sources are retained, including 0 professional sources with an explicit hands-on method.
- 4 weighted claims are past the review window.
- 1 non-blocking commercial scope issue requires confirmation.
Facilitates finding correlation and prioritization using AI-driven analytics, while actual false-positive rates remain unverified by public documentation.
Testing scope includes SAST, DAST, SCA, IAST, API, secrets, container, and IaC across the family, with Professional focused on hosted SAST, DAST, or SCA credits and Enterprise expanding technologies and unlimited-scan entitlement under quote.
The AST offering includes IDE, source-control, CI/CD, API, and automation workflows, which can fit developer-centered security checks. The boundary is that the specific integration set and behavior depend on the chosen AppScan product and deployment route.
AI-assisted remediation guidance can shorten fix planning for developers, while separate RapidFix or advisory services may still need distinct entitlement confirmation before assuming packaged remediation help.
Prioritizes vulnerabilities based on centralized policy rules and AI-assisted triage metadata managed through the platform dashboard.
Delivers centralized compliance reporting and dashboard consolidation, though mapping these tools into local ticketing workflows requires custom scoping.
The entry cost is low via a free tier, but overall TCO is impacted by expiring scan credits, high reference pricing step-ups, and unquoted enterprise rates.
Public review signals
HCL AppScan has strong enterprise review coverage across two exact-product profiles
G2 and Gartner Peer Insights show favorable aggregate sentiment for HCL AppScan. Review material commonly values broad static and dynamic testing, detailed findings, developer and CI/CD integration, centralized reporting, and enterprise support. Recurring cautions concern initial learning, implementation complexity, false-positive triage in some workloads, scan time, interface refinement, and commercial affordability.
Public review signals updated: Aug 10, 2026
Commonly reported strengths
- Broad SAST, DAST, API, and enterprise application-security coverage
- Detailed vulnerability information and remediation guidance
- Developer workflow, CI/CD, reporting, and support capabilities
Commonly reported concerns
- Learning curve and implementation effort for new users
- False-positive triage and scan duration in some environments
- Interface refinement and commercial affordability
- Review count
- 76 reviews
- Source context
- HCL AppScan on G2Exact product
- Rating count
- 215 ratings
- Source context
- AppScan in Application Security Testing on Gartner Peer InsightsExact product
HCL AppScan tag profile
- Mid-market
- Enterprise
- Small business
HCL AppScan core capabilities
- SAST, DAST, SCA, IAST, API, secrets, container, and IaC coverage across the family
- IDE, source-control, CI/CD, API, and automation workflows
- AI-assisted finding analysis, prioritization, correlation, and remediation guidance
- Central dashboards, policies, reporting, compliance mapping, and risk governance
- Managed SaaS and self-managed on-premises, cloud, hybrid, sovereign, and air-gapped options
Detailed strengths and purchase cautions
Why it is worth considering
- Provides broad scanning coverage across the product family, including SAST, DAST, SCA, IAST, API, secrets, container, and infrastructure-as-code testing.
- Supports flexible deployment models, with options for managed SaaS, on-premises, cloud, hybrid, sovereign, and air-gapped environments.
- Offers developer-oriented workflow integrations with IDEs, source control, and CI/CD automation, alongside a permanent free CodeSweep tool.
What to confirm before buying
- Purchased Professional scan credits expire at the end of the one-year SaaS subscription access period, which can result in lost value on unused capacity.
- The promotional rate of $29.99 per scan and the $699 scan pack are temporary offers, with standard pricing referencing a significantly higher rate of $299 per scan.
- Most core product options, licensing metrics, and enterprise editions do not have public pricing, requiring buyers to undergo manual sales quoting.
Cross-model buying perspectives
Multi-AI review
Cross-model buying perspectives
Multiple AI models assess this tool against the same buying criteria, so you can compare scores, confidence, fit, cautions, and final views.
AI assessment updated: Sep 22, 2026
- Support and total cost: 56–66 (10-point range)
- appsec program visibility: 78–87 (9-point range)
- Governance and integrations: 78–87 (9-point range)
HCL AppScan fits buyers that want a family of application security testing options with hosted and self-managed deployment choices, but procurement needs to separate the free CodeSweep, promotional Professional scan credits, and quote-based Enterprise suite before committing.
- Review confidence
- 85/100
Model details
- Strengths
- The family spans SAST, DAST, SCA, IAST, API, secrets, container, and IaC coverage, which supports buyers that need more than a single testing mode.
- The offering includes IDE, source-control, CI/CD, API, and automation workflows, which can fit developer-led security checks inside existing delivery processes.
- The portfolio includes central dashboards, policies, reporting, compliance mapping, and risk governance, which supports AppSec programs that need shared oversight rather than only point scans.
- The family includes managed SaaS and self-managed on-premises, cloud, hybrid, sovereign, and air-gapped options, which can fit regulated environments with deployment constraints.
- Cautions
- Professional scan credits are priced as promotional offers, and purchased scans must be used during the one-year SaaS subscription period or they expire.
- Professional credit-card checkout is limited to the listed countries, which narrows direct self-serve purchasing.
- Enterprise and most product-specific routes do not have public numeric price disclosure, which increases procurement work.
- The same AppScan naming is used across a marketplace suite and a separate on-premises product, which requires buyers to confirm the exact product boundary.
A security testing suite that delivers diverse scanning types and deployment models, though buyers must plan around expiring SaaS scan credits, country restrictions, and unquoted enterprise pricing.
- Review confidence
- 80/100
Model details
- Strengths
- Provides broad scanning coverage across the product family, including SAST, DAST, SCA, IAST, API, secrets, container, and infrastructure-as-code testing.
- Supports flexible deployment models, with options for managed SaaS, on-premises, cloud, hybrid, sovereign, and air-gapped environments.
- Offers developer-oriented workflow integrations with IDEs, source control, and CI/CD automation, alongside a permanent free CodeSweep tool.
- Cautions
- Purchased Professional scan credits expire at the end of the one-year SaaS subscription access period, which can result in lost value on unused capacity.
- The promotional rate of $29.99 per scan and the $699 scan pack are temporary offers, with standard pricing referencing a significantly higher rate of $299 per scan.
- Most core product options, licensing metrics, and enterprise editions do not have public pricing, requiring buyers to undergo manual sales quoting.
HCL AppScan suits organizations that need multi-modality application security testing with a free developer SAST entry point, credit-based hosted SAST/DAST/SCA for smaller teams, and quote-based Enterprise scope for broader technologies and deployment choice, provided procurement maps plan boundaries, promotional scan economics, and product-label differences before purchase.
- Review confidence
- 79/100
Model details
- Strengths
- The product family covers SAST, DAST, SCA, IAST, API, secrets, container, and infrastructure-as-code testing, which can consolidate multiple AppSec test types under one vendor relationship when the selected edition includes the needed modalities.
- CodeSweep provides a permanent free downloadable SAST path for GitHub pull-request and supported IDE checks across 35+ languages, lowering the barrier for developers who only need lightweight source scanning without a paid platform subscription.
- IDE, source-control, CI/CD, API, and automation workflow support can place scanning inside existing build and code-review processes rather than only as a late-stage security gate.
- AI-assisted finding analysis, prioritization, correlation, and remediation guidance can help security and engineering teams focus remediation work when findings volume is high.
- Cautions
- Professional public pricing centers on promotional per-scan and pack rates with a higher reference rate shown beside the limited offer, so buyers must confirm the lasting commercial rate rather than treating the promotional figures as the standing price.
- Purchased Professional scan credits must be consumed during the one-year SaaS subscription period and unused scans expire, which can raise effective cost for irregular or back-loaded testing calendars.
- Enterprise and most product-specific licensing routes require custom quotes with no public numeric price for support, implementation, renewal, taxes, or minimum purchase, increasing procurement effort and budget uncertainty.
- Similar Enterprise labels distinguish a marketplace suite plan from a separately documented on-premises product, so buyers can mis-scope deployment, metrics, or entitlements without explicit mapping during purchase.
Research transparency
How this page was researched
A compact record of the evidence used, what was not tested, and which conclusions still need verification.
- Official sources
- 13
- Broad product review sources
- 2
- Marketplace and app-store sources
- 0
- Editorial sources
- 0
- Latest evidence check
- Aug 10, 2026
Global Tool Radar generated this assessment from structured facts linked to public sources. No Global Tool Radar hands-on test is recorded in this page's research data. Any external hands-on assessment is identified separately and does not affect the Global Tool Radar score.
Conflict handlingUnresolved evidence is disclosed on the page; affected deterministic calculations and price schema are withheld when the conflict is blocking.
View research methodologyVerified findingsCodeSweep is a permanent free plan. Separately, HCL offers a 14-day SaaS trial with five SAST, DAST, or SCA scans, summary-only issue reports, no private-site scanning, and no regulatory reports; the trial is not a plan.
- Permanent free CodeSweep, promotional pay-per-scan Professional SaaS, and custom-quoted Enterprise suite, plus separately scoped direct-sales and marketplace routes for branded AppScan products.
- SAST, DAST, SCA, IAST, API, secrets, container, and IaC coverage across the family IDE, source-control, CI/CD, API, and automation workflows AI-assisted finding analysis, prioritization, correlation, and remediation guidance Central dashboards, policies, reporting, compliance mapping, and risk governance Managed SaaS and self-managed on-premises, cloud, hybrid, sovereign, and air-gapped options
- $0 for CodeSweep. The lowest public paid core-plan offer is the limited Professional price of $29.99 per scan.
- Professional scan credits provide DAST, SAST, or SCA access for a stated one-year SaaS subscription, and unused scans expire when that subscription period ends. Enterprise is quote-based and adds broader technologies and deployment choices. Public payment timing, renewal price, taxes, implementation cost, support price, and minimum Enterprise purchase are not stated. Product-specific user, floating-user, application, and concurrent metrics are separate routes rather than additional core plans.
Verification notes and unresolved itemsThe current canonical card displays a $299 reference price and a $29.99 limited offer, while an official localized FAQ states $313.62 per scan with a five-scan minimum. The inconsistent $313.62 state is omitted; the directly bound card and offer-banner states are retained.
- The official family index is the authority for current products and current documentation lines
- older IBM branding, versions 10.6 and earlier, and retired FNO licensing are excluded from current offers.
- The marketplace ladder, not product-route metrics, defines the three retained core plans.
- A one-year Professional access period is recorded as a plan condition, not inferred as a minimum commitment or billing schedule.
Sources checked
Sources checked
HCL AppScan source links
FAQ
HCL AppScan FAQ
What are the current HCL AppScan core plans?
CodeSweep, Professional, and Enterprise. The 14-day trial is temporary evaluation access and is not a plan.
Is the Enterprise plan the same as HCL AppScan Enterprise?
No. Enterprise is the custom suite label in the marketplace ladder. HCL AppScan Enterprise is also the name of a separately documented scalable on-premises product.
Is IAST a separate AppScan plan?
No. IAST is a testing modality available through selected AppScan platforms and the Enterprise suite scope.
What happens to unused Professional scans?
HCL says purchased scans must be used during the subscription period and unused scans expire at its end.
Popular comparisons
Common HCL AppScan comparisons
Only high-scoring and nearby tools from the same subcategory are shown, avoiding comparisons between unrelated use cases.