Finance & Accounting / Accounting Software

FreshBooks Review, Pricing, Pros & Cons

FreshBooks is cloud accounting software for invoicing, expenses, payments, time tracking, projects, bank reconciliation, and financial reporting.

Research by Global Tool Radar Research SystemEvidence checked: Aug 10, 2026AI-assisted · No Global Tool Radar hands-on testView research methodology

Buying snapshot

Quick buying snapshot

A compact view of who this tool fits, what it costs, and what to confirm before choosing it.

Best for
  • Client billing and service delivery are central to the accounting workflow: FreshBooks combines invoices, online payments, estimates, time tracking, projects, expenses, and accounting reports in one product.
  • The business wants an accounting product designed around freelancers and small service teams: FreshBooks explicitly positions the product for freelancers, solopreneurs, businesses with contractors, and small businesses.
Not for
  • Double-entry accounting must be included in the entry plan: FreshBooks limits its double-entry accounting reports to Plus, Premium, and Select rather than Lite.
  • Accounts payable must be included below the Premium tier: FreshBooks states that Bills and Vendors are available only on Premium and Select.
Pricing
  • Account subscription with plan-specific billable-client limits, optional paid team members and add-ons, monthly or yearly billing, and a quote-based Select tier
  • Lite · $2.30 USD · per account · per month · Monthly promotional state · promotional · billed monthly · minimum 1 account · Limited-time public offer for the first three months
Free or trial access
  • 30-day free trial

Product scope

Product functionality and purchase scope

This profile evaluates the FreshBooks cloud accounting subscription and its Lite, Plus, Premium, and Select plan ladder for the United States.

Product checked: Aug 10, 2026

Functionality reviewed
  • FreshBooks invoicing, expenses, payments, projects, time tracking, bank reconciliation, and accounting reports
  • FreshBooks Lite, Plus, Premium, and Select subscriptions
  • Plan-specific client limits and officially listed FreshBooks add-ons
Non-target functionality excluded from scoring
  • FreshBooks client accounts used only to receive and pay invoices
  • Third-party bookkeeping partners and services
  • FreshBooks Payroll powered by Gusto except as a separately priced add-on

Pricing plans

FreshBooks pricing table

Pricing checked: Aug 10, 2026

Official factConfidence 96%3 linked sources

FreshBooks currently displays temporary promotional monthly prices for Lite, Plus, and Premium and a contact-sales Select tier. The promotion should not be treated as a durable starting price. Client limits, paid team members, payment features, payroll, and bookkeeping services can materially affect total cost.

Official pricing page
Pricing cautions
  • Current starting prices are temporary promotional amounts: The public page labels the displayed Lite, Plus, and Premium prices as a limited-time 90% discount for three months and shows separate crossed-out reference amounts.
  • Team access and optional services can increase recurring cost: FreshBooks separately prices team members, Advanced Payments, payroll, and some bookkeeping services, while Select includes only specified entitlements.
PlanPriceKey differencesBest for
LiteFreshBooks LiteSupporting pricing evidence
  • $2.30 USD · per account · per month · Monthly promotional state · promotional · billed monthly · minimum 1 account · Limited-time public offer for the first three months
  • the captured page does not state a promotion end date or buyer-eligibility rule.
  • $23.00 USD · per account · per month · Monthly reference amount · reference · billed monthly · minimum 1 account · Displayed as the crossed-out amount associated with the current Lite monthly promotion.
  • Billable clients: 5 clients; Active and archived clients being billed count toward the plan limit.
Freelancers and very small service businesses invoicing no more than five clients.
PlusFreshBooks PlusSupporting pricing evidence
  • $4.30 USD · per account · per month · Monthly promotional state · promotional · billed monthly · minimum 1 account · Limited-time public offer for the first three months
  • the captured page does not state a promotion end date or buyer-eligibility rule.
  • $43.00 USD · per account · per month · Monthly reference amount · reference · billed monthly · minimum 1 account · Displayed as the crossed-out amount associated with the current Plus monthly promotion.
  • Billable clients: 50 clients; Active and archived clients being billed count toward the plan limit.
  • Double-entry accounting reports: Chart of Accounts, General Ledger, Trial Balance, and related accounting reports; Available on Plus, Premium, and Select.
Small service businesses needing double-entry accounting reports, proposals, retainers, receipt scanning, and up to 50 billable clients.
PremiumFreshBooks PremiumSupporting pricing evidence
  • $7.00 USD · per account · per month · Monthly promotional state · promotional · billed monthly · minimum 1 account · Limited-time public offer for the first three months
  • the captured page does not state a promotion end date or buyer-eligibility rule.
  • $70.00 USD · per account · per month · Monthly reference amount · reference · billed monthly · minimum 1 account · Displayed as the crossed-out amount associated with the current Premium monthly promotion.
  • Billable clients: Unlimited clients; No numeric client cap is displayed for Premium.
  • Accounts payable: Bills and vendors; Available on Premium and Select.
Growing service businesses needing unlimited billable clients, accounts payable, project profitability, and deeper receipt capture.
SelectFreshBooks SelectSupporting pricing evidence
  • Requires quote · per account · Contact-sales state · custom quote · Contact FreshBooks for Select pricing and commercial terms.
  • Included team members: 2 team members; Included in the Select plan at no extra charge.
Higher-volume businesses that need unlimited clients, two included team members, Advanced Payments, lower payment fees, migration support, and dedicated phone support.

Plan upgrade triggers

Verified plan boundaries that can change the required edition.

Lite Plus

More than five billable clients or a need for double-entry accounting reports, proposals, retainers, receipt scanning, or accountant access.

Supporting pricing evidence
Plus Premium

More than 50 billable clients or a need for accounts payable, project profitability, or email customization.

Supporting pricing evidence
What is included, connected, or sold separately

Product scope

What is included, connected, or sold separately

Material capabilities are separated by their verified relationship to the target product.

Accounts payableRelationship not verified

Bills and Vendors are included on Premium and Select.

Plan: Lite: Not verified · Plus: Not verified · Premium: Not verified · Select: Not verified
Double-entry accounting reportsRelationship not verified

Chart of Accounts, General Ledger, Trial Balance, and related accounting reports are available on Plus, Premium, and Select, not Lite.

Plan: Lite: Not verified · Plus: Not verified · Premium: Not verified · Select: Not verified
FreshBooks PayrollRelationship not verified

A separately priced US payroll add-on rather than an included core accounting capability.

Plan: Lite: Not verified · Plus: Not verified · Premium: Not verified · Select: Not verifiedFreshBooks Payroll powered by Gusto
How the score is calculated

Scoring method

How the score is calculated

The score uses the category-specific buying dimensions below and their displayed weights.

This page is based on public product information, official sources, structured feature data, and multi-model AI evaluation. It is not a hands-on lab test unless explicitly stated. Confidence percentages describe our research indicators, not the probability that a claim is true or a measured accuracy rate.

Evidence confidence
76%
AI claim confidence
97%
Required-field evidence status
100%
Evidence freshness
54%
Field traceability
100%
Model agreement
94%
Why this confidence level
  • Evidence confidence uses source level and claim-to-source support; AI claim confidence is shown separately.
  • Required-field evidence status measures whether weighted required claims have evidence links; it does not mean every product behavior was independently verified.
  • 8 of 8 weighted claims have evidence links.
  • 0 A1 documentary official sources and 9 A2 official product sources are linked.
  • 7 independent review sources are retained, including 2 professional sources with an explicit hands-on method.
  • 4 weighted claims are past the review window.
  • No blocking evidence conflict was identified.
Core accounting and financial reporting22%
72

Plus and higher tiers include essential accounting records, but the entry-level tier lacks the reporting depth required for structured bookkeeping.

Payables, receivables, and cash workflows16%
78

Provides strong client-facing tools for invoices, recurring payments, and receipt capture, but gates bills and vendor management to Premium and Select.

Banking and reconciliation14%
75

Bank connections and transaction matching are supported out of the box, offering essential bank reconciliation capability.

Controls, auditability, and compliance14%
58

Requires separate fees for additional team members, and dedicated compliance controls or audit logs are not verified in the documentation.

Integrations and data portability12%
63

Mobile apps and third-party integrations plus bank connections provide connection points for adjacent systems, while broader data-portability mechanics and ongoing sync behavior are not detailed as buyer guarantees.

Operational finance depth12%
73

Supports time tracking, project billing, and basic stock tracking, but operational depth is constrained below Premium due to the absence of accounts payable.

Usability, support, and total cost10%
64

The product has a 30-day free trial and self-serve pricing on lower tiers, but promotional pricing, billable-client limits, optional paid team members, and quote-based Select pricing can affect total cost and purchase clarity.

Public review signals

FreshBooks is rated 4. 5/5 on GetApp and 9. 1/10 on TrustRadius

GetApp reports 4. 5/5 from 4,521 verified user reviews, while TrustRadius reports 9. 1/10 from 214 reviews and ratings. Smaller retained samples on OMR Reviews, GoodFirms, and SourceForge should be read with their sample sizes in view.

Public review signals updated: Aug 10, 2026

Commonly reported strengths

  • TrustRadius reviewers commonly report useful invoice automation, payment tracking, and an accessible interface.

Commonly reported concerns

  • GetApp reviewers commonly report that costs can rise with added clients or users and that advanced reporting or accounting depth can be limited.
  • GoodFirms reviewers commonly report extra-user and add-on costs as purchasing concerns.
GetApp4.5/5
Review count
4.5k reviews
Source context
FreshBooks on GetAppExact product
View sourceHistory baseline established: Aug 10, 2026
GoodFirms4.4/5
Review count
22 reviews
Source context
FreshBooks on GoodFirmsExact product
View sourceHistory baseline established: Aug 10, 2026
SourceForge4.8/5
Review count
10 reviews
Source context
FreshBooks native user reviews on SourceForgeExact product
View sourceHistory baseline established: Aug 10, 2026
TrustRadius9.1/10
Reviews and ratings
214 reviews and ratings
Source context
FreshBooks on TrustRadiusExact product
View sourceHistory baseline established: Aug 10, 2026

Limited review signals

These ratings are retained for transparency but are not presented as representative buyer sentiment.

OMR Reviews4.5/5

Insufficient sample · 3 reviews

Review count
3 reviews
Source context
FreshBooks on OMR ReviewsExact product
View sourceHistory baseline established: Aug 10, 2026

Independent editorial perspectives

Easy invoicing and time tracking, with limited advanced planning depth

Tech.co's structured testing and TechRadar's hands-on review both present FreshBooks as approachable accounting software for freelancers and small service businesses. They emphasize invoicing, expense handling, time tracking, and ease of use, while cautioning that advanced planning, customization, high-volume needs, and expanding costs can become constraints.

Professional reviews are shown separately from public user ratings and do not affect the Global Tool Radar score.

Editorial research updated: Aug 10, 2026

Tech.coExact product

Approachable invoicing and time tracking for small service businesses, with limits in planning and customization

Tech.co's structured accounting-software testing found FreshBooks intuitive for common invoicing, expense, and time-tracking work. It particularly suits freelancers and small service businesses, while buyers needing budgeting, forecasting, multi-currency invoicing, or deeply customizable reporting may find the tested product too limited.

Review basis
hands on
Testing standard
independent lab
Editorial independence
Verified policy
Source updated
Feb 16, 2026
Commercial disclosure
affiliate
Review details
  • Intuitive interface for common accounting tasks
  • Time tracking connects directly to invoicing
  • Automated invoice reminders are available across plans
  • No tested budgeting or forecasting capability
  • Limited report customization
  • The tested invoice workflow did not support changing the default currency reliably
View source
TechRadar ProExact product

A polished small-business accounting service with strong invoicing and support

TechRadar found FreshBooks easy to configure and operate, with useful invoicing, expense management, tax reporting, support, and mobile access. It cautioned that the reviewed service offered fewer choices for high-volume users and that higher tiers and add-ons could make total cost climb. Its price examples predate the current public pricing state and should not be used as current purchase evidence.

Review basis
hands on
Testing standard
independent hands on
Editorial independence
Verified policy
Source updated
Aug 14, 2025
Commercial disclosure
affiliate
Review details
  • Straightforward setup and navigation
  • Strong invoicing and expense-management workflow
  • Useful mobile applications and support options
  • Fewer options for high-volume users
  • Higher tiers and add-ons can increase total cost
View source
Score70
Pricing modelAccount subscription with plan-specific billable-client limits, optional paid team members and add-ons, monthly or yearly billing, and a quote-based Select tier
Use caseCloud accounting and invoicing software for freelancers and small businesses
Key features

FreshBooks core capabilities

  • Custom and recurring invoicing
  • Online payments and payment reminders
  • Expense and receipt capture
  • Time tracking and project billing
  • Bank connections and reconciliation
  • Double-entry accounting reports on Plus and above
Detailed strengths and purchase cautions
Pros

Why it is worth considering

  • Consolidates time tracking, project billing, custom invoicing, and expense capture on a single client-centric platform.
  • Includes standard double-entry accounting reports such as General Ledger, Chart of Accounts, and Trial Balance on Plus and higher plans.
Cons

What to confirm before buying

  • Excludes double-entry accounting reports from the entry-level Lite plan, which restricts standard bookkeeping depth for starting users.
  • Gates accounts payable features, including bills and vendor management, strictly to the Premium and Select tiers.
  • Subjects buyers to a steep price increase when the initial three-month introductory promotional pricing transition to standard reference rates.
Cross-model buying perspectives

Multi-AI review

Cross-model buying perspectives

Multiple AI models assess this tool against the same buying criteria, so you can compare scores, confidence, fit, cautions, and final views.

AI assessment updated: Sep 21, 2026

Score comparisonGeminiGPTxAIRange
Core accounting and financial reporting7274713
Payables, receivables, and cash workflows7879781
Banking and reconciliation7577743
Controls, auditability, and compliance6061529
Integrations and data portability70576113
Operational finance depth70697910
Usability, support, and total cost6564641
accounting ledger bookkeeping depth7072666
accounting bank reconciliation quality7578744
accounting transaction workflow fit8084855
accounting financial reporting basics7276724
finance controls auditability60625210
finance system integration reliability70585812
Where models differ
  • Integrations and data portability: 57–70 (13-point range)
  • finance system integration reliability: 58–70 (12-point range)
  • finance controls auditability: 52–62 (10-point range)
GeminiAI-assisted buyer perspective71

FreshBooks serves as an integrated billing and time-tracking tool optimized for small service businesses, though buyers must plan for tier transitions to access basic double-entry reports on Plus and accounts payable capabilities on Premium.

Review confidence
71/100
Model details
Strengths
  • Consolidates time tracking, project billing, custom invoicing, and expense capture on a single client-centric platform.
  • Includes standard double-entry accounting reports such as General Ledger, Chart of Accounts, and Trial Balance on Plus and higher plans.
Cautions
  • Excludes double-entry accounting reports from the entry-level Lite plan, which restricts standard bookkeeping depth for starting users.
  • Gates accounts payable features, including bills and vendor management, strictly to the Premium and Select tiers.
  • Subjects buyers to a steep price increase when the initial three-month introductory promotional pricing transition to standard reference rates.
GPTAI-assisted buyer perspective70

FreshBooks fits service businesses and freelancers that want invoicing, expenses, time tracking, project billing, bank reconciliation, and financial reporting, but buyers should match the plan to client volume and decide whether double-entry reporting or accounts payable are required before purchase.

Review confidence
70/100
Model details
Strengths
  • FreshBooks includes invoicing, expenses, payments, time tracking, projects, bank reconciliation, and financial reporting in a cloud accounting product, which supports client-service billing workflows in one system.
  • The Plus plan includes double-entry accounting reports, which gives buyers a path to general-ledger style reporting without moving to a different product.
  • The Premium and Select plans add accounts payable, which supports businesses that need bills and vendors beyond the lower plans.
Cautions
  • The current Lite, Plus, and Premium prices are limited-time promotional amounts, so the public starting price should be checked against the standard renewal or post-promotion rate.
  • Client limits apply on Lite and Plus, and active plus archived billed clients count toward those limits, so growth planning matters at the lower tiers.
  • Select pricing and commercial terms require a sales quote, which makes total cost less transparent than the self-serve plans.
xAIAI-assisted buyer perspective68

FreshBooks fits freelancers and small service businesses that run client billing, time and project tracking, expenses, and bank reconciliation in one cloud workspace, with double-entry reports starting on Plus and accounts payable starting on Premium; buyers should match client volume and required accounting depth to plan tier and treat the displayed Lite, Plus, and Premium prices as temporary three-month promotions rather than durable rates.

Review confidence
68/100
Model details
Strengths
  • Custom and recurring invoicing with online payments and payment reminders supports client billing and collection without a separate billing tool.
  • Time tracking and project billing connect service delivery hours and project work directly to invoices for service-led firms.
  • Expense and receipt capture, including deeper receipt handling on higher plans, supports day-to-day spend recording alongside client work.
  • Bank connections and reconciliation are included capabilities that support matching bank activity to books.
Cautions
  • Double-entry accounting reports are not available on Lite, so buyers who need Chart of Accounts, General Ledger, or Trial Balance must take Plus or higher.
  • Accounts payable with bills and vendors is available only on Premium and Select, so payables workflows are out of reach on Lite and Plus.
  • Lite caps billable clients at five and Plus at fifty, and both active and archived clients still being billed count toward those limits.
  • Displayed Lite, Plus, and Premium starting amounts are limited-time promotional prices for the first three months, with higher reference monthly amounts shown separately.

Research transparency

How this page was researched

A compact record of the evidence used, what was not tested, and which conclusions still need verification.

Official sources
9
Broad product review sources
5
Marketplace and app-store sources
0
Editorial sources
2
Latest evidence check
Aug 10, 2026
Research basis

Global Tool Radar generated this assessment from structured facts linked to public sources. No Global Tool Radar hands-on test is recorded in this page's research data. Any external hands-on assessment is identified separately and does not affect the Global Tool Radar score.

Conflict handling

No unresolved evidence conflict is currently recorded.

View research methodology
Verified findings30-day free trial
  • Account subscription with plan-specific billable-client limits, optional paid team members and add-ons, monthly or yearly billing, and a quote-based Select tier
  • Custom and recurring invoicing Online payments and payment reminders Expense and receipt capture Time tracking and project billing Bank connections and reconciliation Double-entry accounting reports on Plus and above Accounts payable on Premium and Select Basic stock tracking for billable items Mobile apps and third-party integrations
  • USD 2.30 per month for Lite during the current limited-time 90% discount for three months; the page shows USD 23 as the reference amount
  • FreshBooks currently displays temporary promotional monthly prices for Lite, Plus, and Premium and a contact-sales Select tier. The promotion should not be treated as a durable starting price. Client limits, paid team members, payment features, payroll, and bookkeeping services can materially affect total cost.
Verification notes and unresolved itemsVerified on 2026-08-10 using current official FreshBooks product, pricing, and help pages.
  • The current US prices are explicitly represented as temporary promotional and reference states.
  • Yearly numeric prices, promotion eligibility, promotion end date, payment-processing fees, Select contract terms, and cancellation effects were not established in the reviewed public excerpts and were not inferred.
Sources checked

Sources checked

FreshBooks source links

FAQ

FreshBooks FAQ

Does FreshBooks have a free plan?

The reviewed official sources establish a 30-day free trial, not a permanent free accounting plan.

Which FreshBooks plan includes double-entry accounting?

FreshBooks states that double-entry accounting reports are available on Plus, Premium, and Select.

Which FreshBooks plan includes accounts payable?

Bills and Vendors are available on Premium and Select.

How do FreshBooks client limits work?

FreshBooks counts both active and archived clients that are still being billed toward the plan limit.

Popular comparisons

Common FreshBooks comparisons

Only high-scoring and nearby tools from the same subcategory are shown, avoiding comparisons between unrelated use cases.