Security & Privacy / Email Security Software

Proofpoint Core Email Protection Review, Pricing, Pros & Cons

Proofpoint Core Email Protection is an AI-driven enterprise email security product that coordinates pre-delivery, post-delivery, and click-time protection through secure email gateway, API, or combined deployments, with threat investigation, automated remediation, end-user coaching, and security integrations.

Research by Global Tool Radar Research SystemEvidence checked: Aug 12, 2026AI-assisted · No Global Tool Radar hands-on testView research methodology

Buying snapshot

Quick buying snapshot

A compact view of who this tool fits, what it costs, and what to confirm before choosing it.

Best for
  • The organization wants one email-security foundation across pre-delivery, post-delivery, and click time: Core coordinates intelligence and response across the full email lifecycle and unifies SEG and API visibility in Threat Protection Workbench.
  • The buyer needs a choice between rapid Microsoft 365 API deployment and granular gateway control for complex mail flow: Core supports API and SEG deployments, with the decision guide positioning API for low-touch Microsoft-oriented environments and SEG for more complex routing and policy needs.
More buying conditions
  • SOC analysts need attack-chain context, integrated search, forensics, and automated post-delivery remediation: Threat Protection Workbench connects messages, users, clicks, and remediation actions and provides visual investigation and automated workflows.
  • The threat model includes phishing, BEC, malware, impersonation, internal phishing, malicious links and attachments, QR codes, and direct send: Current Core sources publish multi-signal detection and protection across those email threat classes.
Not for
  • The purchase requires a transparent direct per-user price or deterministic total for a custom quantity: Proofpoint uses sales quotes and publishes pricing factors but no direct numeric Core rate, minimum, payment schedule, renewal term, or implementation amount.
  • The buyer wants a small-business MSP package with built-in continuity, archiving, and DLP: Proofpoint Essentials and 365 Total Protection are separate product lines and bundles for that buying pattern, not Core editions.
More buying conditions
  • The requirement includes broad cloud-account takeover remediation, supplier compromise defense, collaboration-channel protection, simulations, or domain fraud remediation in the base purchase: Those broader controls belong to higher Collaboration Security tiers or separately named products beyond Core's email foundation.
  • The project requires DLP, encryption, long-term archiving, continuity, or managed operations to be guaranteed in the Core entitlement: Proofpoint maintains separate DLP, Archive, Continuity, and managed-service scopes, and current Core packaging does not publicly establish their inclusion.
Pricing
  • Sales-quoted Core offer with budgetary pricing based on user licenses and contract term, subject to possible consumption exceptions; one route-specific AWS contract is public.
  • Core Email Protection · Requires quote · custom quote
Free or trial access
  • No permanent free plan or time-limited Core Email Protection trial is publicly stated. Current official pages offer a demo and a quote request, neither of which is a pricing plan.

Product scope

Product functionality and purchase scope

This profile evaluates the current Core Email Protection foundation sold by quote, including API and secure email gateway deployment choices, coordinated pre-delivery, post-delivery, and click-time protection, Nexus AI detection, threat investigation, automated remediation, user coaching, abuse-mailbox automation, and named security integrations. It does not treat deployment modes, demos, legacy component names, higher Collaboration Security tiers, adjacent products, bundles, or services as duplicate Core plans.

Product checked: Aug 12, 2026

Functionality reviewed
  • Current sales-quoted Core Email Protection offer
  • Secure email gateway deployment for pre-delivery control, routing, policy, post-delivery response, and click-time protection
  • Core Email Protection API deployment for rapid, low-touch Microsoft 365 protection and supported Google Workspace or Exchange architectures
  • Nexus language, relationship, machine-learning, threat-intelligence, computer-vision, reputation, content-analysis, and sandboxing signals
  • Protection against spam, malware, phishing, BEC, impersonation, malicious links and attachments, ransomware, QR-code threats, internal phishing, and direct-send threats
  • Threat Protection Workbench, Threat Interaction Map, integrated search, attack forensics, triage, quarantine, and automated message remediation
  • End-user warnings, suspicious-message reporting, abuse-mailbox processing, spam and graymail learning, and Satori Abuse Mailbox Agent
  • Named ecosystem integrations with Microsoft Defender, CrowdStrike, Okta, Palo Alto Networks, Splunk, and Microsoft Sentinel
Non-target functionality excluded from scoring
  • API and SEG deployment modes as separate plans or editions
  • Legacy or component service identities such as Email Protection and Targeted Attack Protection as duplicate current Core plans
  • Threat Response Auto-Pull on-premises appliance and Cloud Threat Response as separately identified response products
  • Proofpoint Essentials, its Beginner, Business, Advanced, and Pro packages, and its future Hornetsecurity 365 Total Protection migration path
  • Proofpoint 365 Total Protection MSP and Microsoft 365 bundle
  • Collaboration Security Tier 2, Tier 3, and Prime package capabilities beyond the Core foundation
  • Proofpoint Account Takeover Protection for broad cloud-account detection and remediation beyond Core email signals
  • Email Fraud Defense, hosted DMARC, DKIM and SPF services, supplier protection, and broader domain or lookalike-domain remediation
  • Adaptive Email DLP, Email DLP and Encryption, Enterprise DLP, Unified DLP, and other data-security products
  • Proofpoint Archive, supervision, e-discovery, and long-term communications governance
  • Proofpoint Continuity and continuity, backup, archiving, or recovery entitlements in Essentials or 365 Total Protection
  • ZenGuide awareness training, phishing simulations, and human-risk education beyond Core in-message coaching
  • Managed Email Threat Protection, professional services, advisory services, deployment services, training, and support upgrades
Purchase paths

Pricing checked: Aug 12, 2026

  • Proofpoint Security on AWS Marketplace: An AWS Marketplace contract for 500 users of the Core (P0) email security package. It is a route-specific commercial state for Core, not a second Core plan or a direct-price proxy for other user quantities.
    • $96000 USD · per 500 users · per year · one-year commitment

Pricing plans

Proofpoint Core Email Protection pricing table

Pricing checked: Aug 12, 2026

Official factConfidence 99%2 linked sources

Proofpoint presents Core Email Protection as the email-security foundation and sells it by quote. User count and single- or multi-year contract term can affect budgetary pricing, and Proofpoint notes possible consumption exceptions without publishing the metering unit or rate. API and SEG are deployment choices within Core, not separate plans. AWS Marketplace separately lists a 500-user Core (P0) email security package at USD 96,000 for a 12-month contract; that route is not used to set the direct-plan starting price. Higher Collaboration Security tiers, Essentials, 365 Total Protection, DLP, archiving, continuity, account-takeover products, and services have separate scope.

Official pricing page
PlanPriceBest for
Core Email Protection
  • Requires quote · custom quote
Organizations that need Proofpoint's current email-security foundation with API, SEG, or combined deployment and coordinated detection, investigation, and remediation across the email lifecycle.
What is included, connected, or sold separately

Product scope

What is included, connected, or sold separately

Material capabilities are separated by their verified relationship to the target product.

Automated post-delivery quarantine and message removalIncluded capability

Current Core sources explicitly include automated remediation; this does not establish the separate TRAP appliance as included.

Plan: Core Email Protection: Included
BEC, impersonation, and lookalike-message detectionIncluded capability

No separate current Core plan named Impostor Email Protection is published; broader domain, supplier, and takedown scope is separate.

Plan: Core Email Protection: IncludedImpostor email classification
Configurable secure email gateway deploymentIncluded capability

Current Core packages the SEG deployment choice; Email Protection remains a technical service identity and is not returned as another plan.

Plan: Core Email Protection: IncludedProofpoint Email Protection service
Malicious URL and attachment analysis with sandboxingIncluded capability

Core publishes sandboxing for malicious URLs and attachments. TAP remains a current technical service identity but is not a second Core plan.

Plan: Core Email Protection: IncludedTargeted Attack Protection (TAP) technology
Pre-delivery, post-delivery, and click-time email protectionIncluded capability

The current Core brief explicitly coordinates all three lifecycle stages.

Plan: Core Email Protection: Included
Rapid API email protection deploymentIncluded capability

Microsoft 365 uses Graph API; exact Google Workspace and Exchange architecture differs and should be validated.

Plan: Core Email Protection: IncludedMicrosoft 365, Google Workspace, and supported Exchange architectures
Broad cloud-account takeover investigation and remediationSeparate product

Core includes email-focused lateral-phishing and account-takeover signals; Tier 2 adds the broader cloud-account product scope.

Proofpoint Account Takeover Protection
DMARC, supplier, and domain impersonation protectionSeparate product

Core detects BEC and lookalike messages, while hosted authentication, supplier context, domain monitoring, and broader impersonation remediation extend beyond the base offer.

Proofpoint Email Fraud Defense and Collaboration Security Prime
Emergency email continuity and temporary message storageSeparate product

Continuity remains a separately identified service and is also bundled in other offers; current Core packaging does not state inclusion.

Proofpoint Continuity
Long-term communications archiving and e-discoverySeparate product

Archive is separately named and is not established as a Core entitlement.

Proofpoint Archive
Managed email threat protection and optimizationSeparate product

Managed expertise, operational checks, and executive reporting are service scope, not automatic Core software entitlement.

Proofpoint Managed Email Threat Protection
On-premises incident management and email auto-pullSeparate product

TRAP is currently identified as an on-premises incident-management product; Cloud Threat Response is its separately identified SaaS counterpart.

Proofpoint Threat Response Auto-Pull (TRAP)
Rule-based and behavioral email data loss preventionSeparate product

Integrated outbound protections on the Core page do not establish broad DLP or encryption entitlement.

Proofpoint Email DLP and Encryption and Adaptive Email DLP
SMB and MSP email security with optional continuity and archivingSeparate product

Essentials continues to operate while Proofpoint prepares an optional upgrade path to the Hornetsecurity platform; neither is a Core edition.

Proofpoint Essentials and Proofpoint 365 Total Protection
Threat-guided training and phishing simulationsSeparate product

Core includes in-message coaching and user reporting, not the broader training and simulation program.

Proofpoint ZenGuide and Collaboration Security Tier 3
Security and identity ecosystem connectionsThird-party integration

The integrations are named for Core, but destination licensing, edition, and configuration requirements remain separate.

Plan: Core Email Protection: IncludedMicrosoft Defender, CrowdStrike, Okta, Palo Alto Networks, Splunk, and Microsoft Sentinel
How the score is calculated

Scoring method

How the score is calculated

The score uses the category-specific buying dimensions below and their displayed weights.

This page is based on public product information, official sources, structured feature data, and multi-model AI evaluation. It is not a hands-on lab test unless explicitly stated. Confidence percentages describe our research indicators, not the probability that a claim is true or a measured accuracy rate.

Evidence confidence
84%
AI claim confidence
99%
Required-field evidence status
100%
Evidence freshness
54%
Field traceability
100%
Model agreement
91%
Why this confidence level
  • Evidence confidence uses source level and claim-to-source support; AI claim confidence is shown separately.
  • Required-field evidence status measures whether weighted required claims have evidence links; it does not mean every product behavior was independently verified.
  • 8 of 8 weighted claims have evidence links.
  • 2 A1 documentary official sources and 10 A2 official product sources are linked.
  • 1 independent review sources are retained, including 0 professional sources with an explicit hands-on method.
  • 4 weighted claims are past the review window.
  • No blocking evidence conflict was identified.
Threat protection efficacy20%
86

Delivers coordinated lifecycle threat protection using machine learning, computer vision, and global threat intelligence to dynamically block attacks.

Detection accuracy17%
82

Nexus AI relationship graphs and language analysis identify internal phishing and lateral threats, with accuracy supported by historical learning during API onboarding.

BEC and identity protection15%
84

BEC, impersonation, lookalike-message, and email-focused account-takeover-signal detection are included in Core, while broader cloud-account investigation and remediation sit in separate Account Takeover Protection packaging.

Response operations14%
85

Supports abuse-mailbox automation and post-delivery message clawback, but standard core plans do not automatically package premium managed operations or external analyst services.

Platform coverage and deployment13%
83

Accommodates API, gateway, or combined deployments, but API onboarding is tailored to Microsoft 365, while Google Workspace and Exchange require deployment-specific validation.

Governance and integrations11%
73

Integrates threat forensics and coordinates response across tools, but governance features such as compliance archiving, encryption, and data loss prevention require separate add-on licenses.

Support and total cost10%
54

Licensing is sales-quoted by user count and contract term with no permanent free plan or public Core trial, and managed operations, implementation, training, and premium support are not automatic inclusions, so total cost stays quote-dependent.

Public review signals

Core Email Protection has a large favorable exact-product G2 sample

G2 provides a current exact-product aggregate of 4. 6 out of 5 from 583 reviews. The aggregate is relevant to Core Email Protection, while individual comments may span gateway, API, and older deployment experiences.

Public review signals updated: Aug 12, 2026

G24.6/5
Review count
583 reviews
Source context
Proofpoint Core Email Protection Reviews on G2Exact product
View sourceHistory baseline established: Aug 12, 2026

Marketplace app signals

Marketplace app signals

These source-reported ratings describe a specific marketplace listing, integration, mobile app, or add-on. They do not automatically represent the complete software product.

AWS Marketplace4.6/5
Rating count
623 ratings
Evaluated scope
Full product listing
Storefront
AWS Marketplace
Score80
Pricing modelSales-quoted Core offer with budgetary pricing based on user licenses and contract term, subject to possible consumption exceptions; one route-specific AWS contract is public.
Use casestop phishing, business email compromise, malware, malicious links and attachments, impersonation, internal phishing, and post-delivery email threats through API or secure email gateway deployment
Company sizeEnterprise, Mid-market
Structured tags

Proofpoint Core Email Protection tag profile

Company size
  • Enterprise
  • Mid-market
Key features

Proofpoint Core Email Protection core capabilities

  • Coordinated pre-delivery, post-delivery, and click-time email protection
  • Secure email gateway, API, and combined deployment support
  • Nexus AI using language models, relationship graphs, machine learning, threat intelligence, and computer vision
  • Sandboxing and analysis for malicious URLs and attachments
  • BEC, phishing, impersonation, account-takeover-signal, spam, malware, QR-code, internal-mail, and direct-send detection
  • Threat Protection Workbench with attack forensics, interaction mapping, integrated search, and alert triage
Detailed strengths and purchase cautions
Pros

Why it is worth considering

  • Multiple deployment options permit organizations to select a low-touch cloud API path, a highly granular secure email gateway deployment, or a combined architecture.
  • Coordinated threat protection leverages Nexus AI language models, machine learning, and computer vision to analyze and neutralize URLs, attachments, direct-send abuse, and QR codes.
  • The Threat Protection Workbench delivers comprehensive operational support through attack forensics, interaction mapping, integrated search, and automated quarantine actions.
Cons

What to confirm before buying

  • A custom sales quote is required for standard direct purchases, and there is no permanent free tier or standardized direct trial package available to simplify budget planning.
  • Critical adjacent functions such as data loss prevention, archiving, encryption, and email continuity are excluded from Core and require separate product licensing.
  • Broader security needs, including cloud-account takeover response, supplier threat controls, and domain fraud defense, require moving to higher tiers or buying separate add-ons.
Cross-model buying perspectives

Multi-AI review

Cross-model buying perspectives

Multiple AI models assess this tool against the same buying criteria, so you can compare scores, confidence, fit, cautions, and final views.

AI assessment updated: Sep 22, 2026

Score comparisonGPTGeminixAIRange
Threat protection efficacy8985845
Detection accuracy87827611
BEC and identity protection91808211
Response operations8685851
Platform coverage and deployment8980809
Governance and integrations7775689
Support and total cost43605817
email phishing bec detection9285887
email malware url protection9090864
email policy quarantine control8485787
email incident response workflow8885873
email delivery user experience7280728
Where models differ
  • Support and total cost: 43–60 (17-point range)
  • BEC and identity protection: 80–91 (11-point range)
  • Detection accuracy: 76–87 (11-point range)
GPTAI-assisted buyer perspective82

Proofpoint Core Email Protection fits buyers that need enterprise email security with API, SEG, or combined deployment, coordinated protection across the email lifecycle, and investigation plus remediation workflows; it is a poor fit for buyers that need public per-user pricing, a free plan, or bundled services that are not confirmed in Core.

Review confidence
82/100
Model details
Strengths
  • It supports pre-delivery, post-delivery, and click-time protection in one Core offer, which can cover both inbound and delivered-message risk in the same program.
  • It includes API, secure email gateway, and combined deployment options, which lets teams choose a cloud-first path or deeper mail-flow control based on their environment.
  • It includes investigation, automated quarantine and removal, user warnings, and reporting workflows, which can support a security operations process after suspicious mail is detected.
Cautions
  • The direct offer requires a quote, so buyers cannot compare a public per-user price or standard packaged rate from the Core offer itself.
  • Public Core packaging does not establish inclusion for DLP, archiving, continuity, or broader account-takeover response, so those needs require separate scope confirmation.
  • Managed operations, implementation, training, and premium support are not stated as automatically included, so service expectations need contract review.
GeminiAI-assisted buyer perspective81

Proofpoint Core Email Protection provides unified threat protection spanning pre-delivery, post-delivery, and click-time windows with flexible gateway or API options, but buyers must carefully verify which advanced compliance, archiving, and identity modules are excluded from the base Core package.

Review confidence
81/100
Model details
Strengths
  • Multiple deployment options permit organizations to select a low-touch cloud API path, a highly granular secure email gateway deployment, or a combined architecture.
  • Coordinated threat protection leverages Nexus AI language models, machine learning, and computer vision to analyze and neutralize URLs, attachments, direct-send abuse, and QR codes.
  • The Threat Protection Workbench delivers comprehensive operational support through attack forensics, interaction mapping, integrated search, and automated quarantine actions.
Cautions
  • A custom sales quote is required for standard direct purchases, and there is no permanent free tier or standardized direct trial package available to simplify budget planning.
  • Critical adjacent functions such as data loss prevention, archiving, encryption, and email continuity are excluded from Core and require separate product licensing.
  • Broader security needs, including cloud-account takeover response, supplier threat controls, and domain fraud defense, require moving to higher tiers or buying separate add-ons.
xAIAI-assisted buyer perspective79

Core Email Protection fits mid-market and enterprise teams that need coordinated pre-delivery, post-delivery, and click-time email defense with API, SEG, or combined deployment, investigation, and automated remediation, provided the buyer accepts sales-quoted licensing and separately scopes DLP, archiving, continuity, broader account-takeover response, and managed services.

Review confidence
79/100
Model details
Strengths
  • Coordinated pre-delivery, post-delivery, and click-time controls let security teams address threats before delivery, after delivery, and at click time within one Core offer.
  • API, SEG, and combined deployment choices support both rapid Microsoft 365 API onboarding and deeper gateway routing for complex or hybrid mail flows.
  • Threat Protection Workbench supplies attack forensics, interaction mapping, integrated search, and alert triage for investigation-centered operations.
  • Automated quarantine and removal of delivered and forwarded malicious messages reduces manual cleanup after messages reach mailboxes.
Cautions
  • Direct pricing, unit basis, payment timing, commitment terms, and implementation costs require a custom quote rather than a published per-user rate.
  • DLP, encryption, archiving, continuity, backup, and broad cloud-account takeover response are outside current Core packaging and need separate scope confirmation.
  • SEG deployments can take weeks and require mail-flow, routing, authentication, and policy work before production control is complete.
  • Managed operations, implementation, training, and premium support are not established as automatic Core inclusions and may need separate purchase.

Research transparency

How this page was researched

A compact record of the evidence used, what was not tested, and which conclusions still need verification.

Official sources
12
Broad product review sources
1
Marketplace and app-store sources
1
Editorial sources
0
Latest evidence check
Aug 12, 2026
Research basis

Global Tool Radar generated this assessment from structured facts linked to public sources. No Global Tool Radar hands-on test is recorded in this page's research data. Any external hands-on assessment is identified separately and does not affect the Global Tool Radar score.

Conflict handling

No unresolved evidence conflict is currently recorded.

View research methodology
Verified findingsNo permanent free plan or time-limited Core Email Protection trial is publicly stated. Current official pages offer a demo and a quote request, neither of which is a pricing plan.
  • Sales-quoted Core offer with budgetary pricing based on user licenses and contract term, subject to possible consumption exceptions; one route-specific AWS contract is public.
  • Coordinated pre-delivery, post-delivery, and click-time email protection Secure email gateway, API, and combined deployment support Nexus AI using language models, relationship graphs, machine learning, threat intelligence, and computer vision Sandboxing and analysis for malicious URLs and attachments BEC, phishing, impersonation, account-takeover-signal, spam, malware, QR-code, internal-mail, and direct-send detection Threat Protection Workbench with attack forensics, interaction mapping, integrated search, and alert triage Automated quarantine and removal of delivered and forwarded malicious messages End-user warnings, suspicious-message reporting, abuse-mailbox automation, and spam or graymail learning
  • Requires quote
  • Proofpoint presents Core Email Protection as the email-security foundation and sells it by quote. User count and single- or multi-year contract term can affect budgetary pricing, and Proofpoint notes possible consumption exceptions without publishing the metering unit or rate. API and SEG are deployment choices within Core, not separate plans. AWS Marketplace separately lists a 500-user Core (P0) email security package at USD 96,000 for a 12-month contract; that route is not used to set the direct-plan starting price. Higher Collaboration Security tiers, Essentials, 365 Total Protection, DLP, archiving, continuity, account-takeover products, and services have separate scope.
Verification notes and unresolved itemsThe current direct buying page establishes one Core Email Protection quote offer and states that user licenses, contract term, and some consumption exceptions affect budgetary pricing.
  • It does not publish a direct numeric amount, exact priced unit, payment timing, minimum commitment, renewal terms, minimum quantity, implementation amount, support amount, or consumption rate.
  • The current AWS listing separately binds USD 96,000 to a 500-user Core (P0) email security package and a 12-month contract
  • it is retained only as an alternative purchase path.
  • The how-to-buy comparison table's icon states are not text-extractable, so higher-tier boundaries rely on the page's explicit tier descriptions and the official Threat Protection overview.
Sources checked

Sources checked

Proofpoint Core Email Protection source links

FAQ

Proofpoint Core Email Protection FAQ

What is the current Proofpoint Core Email Protection offer?

It is Proofpoint's sales-quoted email-security foundation with API and SEG deployment choices, coordinated pre-delivery, post-delivery, and click-time protection, investigation, automated remediation, user coaching, and integrations.

Are API and SEG separate Core plans?

No. Proofpoint describes them as deployment options for Core Email Protection. API favors rapid, low-touch cloud deployment; SEG provides deeper mail-flow control and customization for complex environments.

Does Proofpoint publish a Core price?

The direct offer requires a quote. AWS Marketplace separately lists a 500-user Core (P0) package at USD 96,000 for a 12-month contract, but that route-specific amount is not a direct rate for other quantities.

Are Email Protection, TAP, and TRAP additional Core plans?

No current Core plan ladder uses those names as separate editions. Proofpoint still documents Email Protection gateway processing and TAP URL and attachment analysis, while TRAP remains a separately identified on-premises response product and Cloud Threat Response its SaaS counterpart.

Is Impostor Email Protection a separate current plan?

No separate current Core plan with that name is published. Core includes BEC, impersonation, and lookalike-message analysis, while broader domain, supplier, and impersonation controls belong to Email Fraud Defense or higher Collaboration Security packaging.

Does Core include account takeover protection?

Core API includes email-focused account-takeover and lateral-phishing detection. Broader cloud-account investigation and remediation is the separate Account Takeover Protection product and is positioned beyond Core in Collaboration Security Tier 2.

Are DLP, archiving, and continuity included?

Current public Core packaging does not establish their inclusion. Proofpoint markets Email DLP and Encryption, Adaptive Email DLP, Archive, and Continuity as separate scopes or as entitlements in other bundles such as Essentials and 365 Total Protection.

Is Proofpoint Essentials the small-business edition of Core?

No. Essentials is a separately operated MSP and SMB product line with its own packages and a planned optional path to Hornetsecurity 365 Total Protection.

Popular comparisons

Common Proofpoint Core Email Protection comparisons

Only high-scoring and nearby tools from the same subcategory are shown, avoiding comparisons between unrelated use cases.